Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Driver Support

Can't Connect to Internet after XP Reintsall

This is a discussion on Can't Connect to Internet after XP Reintsall within the Driver Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all. Yesterday, I reinstalled Windows XP on my old Dell PC tower. I reinstalled it with Service Pack 2


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2010, 06:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP Home SP2


Mistake

Hello all. Yesterday, I reinstalled Windows XP on my old Dell PC tower. I reinstalled it with Service Pack 2 and everything was fine. The system was wiped and I was left with a couple of drivers missing. I used a freeware program called Driverforge to install a bunch of .7z drivers. These included LAN, chipset, sound, modem, and graphics drivers. Under the device manager, I have no drivers with a yellow question mark other than a sound driver. I have a wired connection to my PC. I have Verizon Fios and my router/modem (I don't know the difference) has worked on this PC before. I don't have a problem installing drivers or anything for that matter but I can't connect to the Internet. Does anyone have a solution to this issue? It doesn't make sense that if I have all the drivers, minus a sound driver, that I cannot connect to the Internet. Please help. Thank you in advance.

__________________
SkInNyAsHeS is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 06:53 AM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,165
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

Is the network card onboard of an addin card? Do you have a Local Area connection in Network Connections? Are any other pc's connected to your Verizon router?

Let's try this:

With the pc connected to the router,

Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type type the following command: IPCONFIG /ALL


Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter. Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.


The best place to get drivers for a Dell is the Dell support site. go to the Dell support site, enter your Service Tag Number and download the drivers. Be sure to use IE and do not use the Dell Download Manager!

Just download the driver file, save it to the desktop and double click to install

On the list of drivers, click on the driver file:



Then the download button here:



See this for the order they should be installed:

http://support.dell.com/support/topi...=en&l=en&s=dhs

Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 07:35 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP Home SP2



Below is what you asked for. And Hello and thank you. by the way. I'm not sure if my "network card is an onboard of an
addin card", I don't follow that. And no, I do not have any Local Area Connections in my Network Connections. And yes,
they're two laptops, A Dell and an HP connected to my Verizon Router. One is wired to the router, one is not.


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\connor>ipconfig /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : best-8046c23532
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-A6-91-DF-90
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
71.243.0.12

C:\Documents and Settings\connor>
__________________
SkInNyAsHeS is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 08:37 AM   #4
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,165
OS: XP, Win 7



I assume you are trying to connect the tower with an ethernet cable? Are you sure that the Network Adaptor shows in Device Manager?

With it connected, Try this:

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 10:18 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP Home SP2



Yes, your assumption was correct. I am attempting to connect the tower with an ethernet cable. And yes, a Network Adaptor does show in the Device Manager (I'm not sure if it's the right one or if there could be a WRONG one).

Anyway, I attempted to reset the TCP/IP Stack and WINSOCK entries using those CMD's, however I recieved this error both times, "This application has failed to start because "framedyn.dll" was not found. Re-installing this application may fix this problem."
Now, I'm sure that's not good. But, what should I do now? This is a real annoying.
__________________
SkInNyAsHeS is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 04:06 PM   #6
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,165
OS: XP, Win 7



Where did you get the Network adaptor driver? . . See if you can find it on the Dell support site
Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 06:40 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP Home SP2



I literally just realized I did the noobiest thing ever. I am REALLY gonna need your help now. I used a Dell Restore Disc on an HP computer. For the several years I've had this tower, PC I thought it was a Dell. Just realized... it's an HP. But, I restore XP SP2 on the HP using the Dell XP SP2 Restore Disc. But now I have all of these problems. What do you recommend I do? I'm gonna try and find an HP Ethernet Adapter online right now. I'm sorry for the confusion but I need your help more than ever, simpswr.
__________________
SkInNyAsHeS is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 08:34 PM   #8
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,165
OS: XP, Win 7



http://www.hp.com/#Support
Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 08:51 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP Home SP2



I can't find anything there for my system. I have an HP Pavilion a000. I'm running Windows XP Pro SP2. Under the device manager I only have missing a Multimedia Audio Controller Driver. I've attempted to use 3 seemingly useful drivers and they've all done nothing for me. Please help?
__________________
SkInNyAsHeS is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 12:44 PM   #10
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,165
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you try the Spring 2005 Original Network Adapter Driver Collection ? You may have to start over with the right chipset driver first, then the others
Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 08:54 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP Home SP2



Okay, can you give me a play by play of how I should go about "starting over"?
__________________
SkInNyAsHeS is offline  
Old 07-10-2010, 06:13 AM   #12
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,165
OS: XP, Win 7



Install the right Chipset driver . . then video, then LAN and any others . . see if it will work then. If not, a reinstall may be necessary to cleanse the Dell Drivers

Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts