Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

You cannot create a new volume in this unallocated partition beacause the disk has al

This is a discussion on You cannot create a new volume in this unallocated partition beacause the disk has al within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have windows 7 ultimate installed on my dell Inspiron N5010 machine.I had a preinstalled windows 7 home basic. I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2011, 11:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



I have windows 7 ultimate installed on my dell Inspiron N5010 machine.I had a preinstalled windows 7 home basic.

I have currently 4 partitions:

OEM
Recovery
1 Primary partition with aorund 250 GB
1 extended partition with 2 logical drives.

Whats My Problem??

Out of the free 225 GB , the maximum available shrinked space available is 128 gb (thats is understable ,due to unmovable files ~hibernation files etc).I shrinked it to maximum capacity to create a new unallocated space of 128 gb.But when I tried to create a simple volume, it gave me an error~You cannot create a new volume in this unallocated partition beacause the disk has already maximum number of partitions.

I guess,out of the permissible 4 partitions in disk management without using any 3rd party software,I have used it all.And when I tried to create a new simple volume, it is creating another partition.

Real Problem:
How to create a logical drive from primary partition??

PS:I tried PM, but it gave me a launch error.

__________________
seal6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 04:57 PM   #2
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,082
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Why are you trying to install Win7 twice? Partition, format, and install a single copy.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 05:39 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



You cannot create a logical drive from a primary partition, only from and extended partition. MBR formatting only allows 4 partition entries - that is all the space that is available in the partition table. The purpose of extended partitions and virtual drives is to work around that limitation. The pextended partition creates it's own virtual partition table in another area of the disk to allow for more 'logical drives'
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:49 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



I have two drives in my computer : C which is the root drive and D with around 250 gb each...I want to to just shrink the C drive and create another two drives for stroring my movies and songs...Is it possible to do it??
__________________
seal6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:42 PM   #5
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,082
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


It would be easier, and less hassle to simply keep the drives as they are. You can use partition management software to change partition sizes. Ensure you have BACKUP copy of ALL the data that you don't want to lose. Mucking about with active partitions containing data, even when you know exactly what you are doing, can often go awry.

Why not just move all of the movies to their own folder? I honestly don't see any need to make logical drives. Aside from having a "shortcut" or a new drive letter, it serves no benefit.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:44 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Definitely no benefit for data storage.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:45 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



And again, if you have 4 primary partitions, then it is impossible to create another partition.

__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
registry errors
Hi Ried, Lately, my laptop speed has decreased significantly. Every time I open the engineering software SolidWorks (SW) 2009, it terminates prematurely. I basically have to wait forever for my laptop to boot-up and about 3 days ago my anti-virus, Kaspersky Internet Systems 2011...
Shackkster Resolved HJT Threads 101 06-07-2011 11:30 PM
url redirects plus some other spurious behavior
Was unable to complete an Amazon transaction yesterday -- checkout pages wouldn't load without repeated attempts. Then found that search engine results were being redirected. Tried System Restore to several different known-clean restore points -- all failed. Have also noticed these intermittent...
tooleyweeds Resolved HJT Threads 14 04-13-2011 11:42 AM
possible trojan/hijack attempt/windows security issue
It started with windows xp security center refusing to open Firefox or IE. It popped up a window stating there was a trojan keylogger virus. I tried some online scans and only found a firewall and virus scan override registry changes. I did a system restore but on reboot I was asked what...
dell1234 Resolved HJT Threads 9 03-23-2011 12:50 PM
Windows 7 BSOD - Memory management
Been getting BSOD. Sometimes twice a night, sometimes none. This hass been for weeks. Sometimes I get stuck in a reboot loop, sometimes it wants to run Repair, sometimes it wants me to choose safe mode/no safe mode. Pulled out two 1GB sticks of old dell memory yesterday when it was stuck in a...
dj-anakin BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 02-21-2011 03:27 PM
Need some help. Virus/malware Thanks!
:upset: Tons of popup windows saying this file is infected and that file is infected, do I want to open up my security software (and this isn't my CA security suite doing this). Even if I'm using Firefox random windows in IE will open with (******.com/porno.com/adult.com). Hardly any...
R_Willis Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 01-20-2011 09:50 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts