Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Wiping a Sata Hard Drive

This is a discussion on Wiping a Sata Hard Drive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey All: I'm wondering what tools/software is needed to wipe a Sata HDD clean. I have two new Sata drive


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2008, 05:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via MSN to RegCom

Hey All:

I'm wondering what tools/software is needed to wipe a Sata HDD clean. I have two new Sata drive that have an OS on it. I want to wipe it clean and reinstall an OS. Also, if the tools/software could work when booting up would be great. Thanks

__________________
RegCom is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 05:47 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,229
OS: XP Professional



My suggestion would be either one of two things:

First, the utility you can download from the manufacturer of the drives does a nice job of this and the download is free. It is also fairly quick in comparison to a complete cleaning.

Another great solution (takes more time) is Dban which will wipe EVERYTHING off that disk. Just be sure if you use Dban (it wipes everything and I mean everything) that you do not have any drives hooked up that you want to keep the data on, because it has the ability to just clean everything out in one operation.

............

You don't want to just format, you want to Dban that disk.

To completely erase all data on the drive(s), download DBAN and create a floppy disk to use.

Enter the BIOS setup menu and set the boot order to 'floppy first', then reboot with the DBAN floppy inserted in the drive.

It will completely and securely wipe everything off your hard drive. It will then be clean and secure so the next person can be ready to load the new Windows OS on the disk and none of your data will be there.

__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 06:06 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via MSN to RegCom

How fast should DBAN take? When I run it, DBAN says finished without fatal error, but it only takes 5 sec. to run.
__________________
RegCom is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 06:13 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,229
OS: XP Professional



It should take quite some time.....much, much longer than that, don't understand why it would do that.

Just download and run the disk manufacturer's utility and give that a go. That will also do a nice job for you. Then, you will ready to reinstall the OS.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via MSN to RegCom

Thanks, for the quick reply.
__________________
RegCom is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 08:07 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,229
OS: XP Professional



Let us know how it goes. Have a great evening.

__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts