Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Windows detected a hard disk problem

This is a discussion on Windows detected a hard disk problem within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Recently everytime i turn on my pc, before the windows loading screen, it pop out a message "A problem with


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2007, 04:15 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
wishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP / Vista



Recently everytime i turn on my pc, before the windows loading screen, it pop out a message
"A problem with the hard drive has been detected. Press the enter key to continue"

Although i can start windows by pressing enter key, but after i enter windows it pop out another message.
"Windows detected a hard disk problem"
"Back up your files immediately to prevent information loss"

Hard disk : Seagate ST3200827AS ATA Device

Anyone could please tell me the solution, I really appreciate it.
Thanks

__________________
wishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 04:20 AM   #2
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,208
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

sounds like your drive is going bad. before you do anything, backup any files you cannot afford to lose.

Once you backup the drive, download and run seatools and see what it says.

__________________
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 04:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
wishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP / Vista



Thanks for the reply.
Yesterday i just finish scanning using seatools. It fixed 4 errors on my hard disk.
But this problem is still there even though i delete & recreate my partition.
__________________
wishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 04:34 AM   #4
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,208
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

then the drive just may need to be replaced before it totally crashes.
__________________
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 04:39 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
wishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP / Vista



Means there is no solution for my drive already??
__________________
wishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 04:43 AM   #6
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,208
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by wishing View Post
Means there is no solution for my drive already??
Once a drive starts getting errors then its normally downhill. It may run a day or so or it could be a year or more. IMO, its now unreliable you can still use it but be sure to keep backups or install it as a slave so nothing critical can run on it.

One thing you can try is to do a scan disk and let it fix errors. Who knows maybe it will help.

Theres could be other possible solutions - like doing a low level format but its risky. I really do not advise doing it. Someone else may have other advise.
__________________
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 04:55 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
wishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP / Vista



Erm.. Did u know how long is the warranty for Seagate hard drive?
__________________
wishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 05:06 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
wishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP / Vista



If anyone still have the solution, please tell me..
Thanks Thanks ~
__________________
wishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 05:10 AM   #9
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



To check if the drive is under warranty:
http://support.seagate.com/customer/...validation.jsp
__________________
Deleted090308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 05:50 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
wishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP / Vista



Thanks
__________________
wishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 08:41 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
OS: vista



i just started getting that msg also. the thing is i just boughtthe computer a little less than a month ago from best buy. could i have bought a "bad comp"?
__________________
kevin419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 09:23 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



More likely this is an error generated by the SMART handler of the drive. Not likely a bad computer, but could be a bad drive. Like cars, or anything else, some of them just fail in a very short time. What is the make and model of the drive? ( this should be reported in device manager )
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 03:22 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 8.1



I have a good hard disk, been working great under Vista Ultimate, now Windows 7 says I have an error. This is not any of my hard drives that I use a lot. So I used CHKDSK - says it's fine. Copied the few files I used off it and did a complete format. Left it empty and Windows 7 still says I have a hard disk problem. I turned off the message, but not sure why it thinks it's bad. I have 3 SATA drives and one EIDE - it's the EIDE one it says I have a problem on. Any ideas? It's now sitting there empty and Windows 7 says it's got a problem. Or is it Windows 7 that has the problem?
__________________
MichaelHalladay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 03:27 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



The message you are seeing is due to a SMART parameter being out of normal specs. SMART values can indicate some pretty minor problems, or some pretty major problems. SMART analyzes the physical drive and has nothing to do with the windows file system, so chkdsk and formatting will not correct the kind of errors SMART is designed to detect. SMART is designed to give you enough warning to get your data safe. So yes a completely blank disk can have the physical errors that are being reported. Download MHDD or hddscan from www.hddguru.com and post the results of the smart test and we'll see what you have.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 06:12 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 8.1



Thanks for the quick reply. HDDSCAN which I think is the HDD Capacity Restore program won't work as there are two devices on the channel. Also at HDDGURU are Partition Find and Mount; HDD Wipe Tool; and HDD Low Level Format Tool; So have I found "HDDSCAN" as you mentioned or is it somewhere else. Also I'm not sure that MHDD is. I was wrong in my previous post. There only 3 SATA drives now on-line. I've got the EIDE drive unplugged right now. I have two 320 gig drives and one 1.5 tb one. It's the 2nd 320 on channel 0 (address "1") that is giving the problem.
__________________
MichaelHalladay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 07:22 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



No hddscan is different from capacity restorer. http://hddguru.com/content/en/softwa...01.22-HDDScan/
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 11:52 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 8.1



Wow, Steve Gibson. Haven't used his expertise in quite some time. Thanks for the reminder. His stuff has always been good. Here's what HDDScan says. Number 5 is an explanation mark and number 10 is an X. I assume that's bad. This disk has 3 partitions. I was thinking of reformatting to 1 partition and doing a low level format. In the old days, I thought a low level format would flag bad tracks and when I did a normal format, that bad areas would be ignored. Is this true? Ideas? thanks,

Model: ST3320620AS
Firmware: 3.AAJ
Serial: 9QF21RWD
LBA: 625142448

Report By: HDDScan for Windows version 3.1
Report Date: 10/28/09 2:44:52 PM


Num Attribute Name Value Worst Raw(hex) Threshold

001 Raw Read Error Rate 105 095 00000093-BA31 006

003 Spin Up Time 096 095 00000000-0000 000

004 Start/Stop Count 093 093 00000000-1FDE 020

005 Reallocation Sector Count 100 100 00000000-0001 036

007 Seek Error Rate 041 041 370A0B05-797F 030

009 PowerOn Hours Count 075 075 00000000-57CD 000

010 Spin Retry Count 062 026 00000000-0000 097

012 Device Power Cycle Count 098 098 00000000-0910 020

187 Reported Uncorrectable Error 100 100 00000000-0000 000

189 High Fly Writes 100 100 00000000-0000 000

190 Airflow Temperature 065 048 35 C 045

194 HDA Temperature 035 052 35 C 000

195 Hardware ECC Recovered 063 055 000007C1-5E57 000

197 Current Pending Sector Count 100 100 00000000-0000 000

198 Uncorrectable Sector Count 100 100 00000000-0000 000

199 UltraDMA CRC Error Count 200 200 00000000-0000 000

200 Write Error Rate 100 253 00000000-0000 000

202 Data Address Mark Errors 100 253 00000000-0000 000
__________________
MichaelHalladay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 01:05 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



There is no true low-level format like the old days. On older drives with stepper motors, as the motor wore, the heads would not stop directly over the tracks, so a LL format would remark the track areas so they were under the heads. When the Voice coil motor came out, which could move to any area on the disk not just the 'steps' defined by the motor, the heads could now move to any area where the tracks happened to be marked. So now at a low level, when the disk is manufactured, 'servo sectors' are written tot eh disk surface to align the heads over the track, rather than having to align the tracks under the head. What is commonly referred to as a low level format now is to write a 00 patern to the disk, or pseudo random data, to every user accessible bit on the platter. ( The servo sectors can't be overwritten, nor the drives service area - else the drive would fail to function ). This has the benefit of allowing any bad sectors to be added to the g-list by the drive's firmware and remapped, since the drive will only remap a bad sector on a write operation. Both quick and full format uner Windows ( the exception being Vista's full format ) do not write to the entire disk surface so therefore can't necessarily trigger the drives internal sector re-allocation routines.
And HDDScan isn't from Steve Gibson :) He does spinrite, which in a lot of cases is too aggressive trying to read a drive before marking a sector as bad - at least in my opinion.
The reallocated sector count isn't really good - but not that bad either, the spin retry count is so - so. I'm sure tho those are where your warnings are coming from. Windows7 is probably doing an on the fly SMART read and perhaps using it's own parameters to decide when to warn. Probably a good idea to make sure you have good backups of critical data.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 06:56 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 8.1



Great response. Thanks for the lesson - I'm impressed and have some new knowledge too. Thanks again. I thought when I went to HDDScan page, I saw Steve's name. No problem. Again, thanks for the education. I suspect what I should be doing is running HDDScan periodically, noting the results, and then replacing the drive when it the numbers get too high.
__________________
MichaelHalladay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 04:42 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
OS: win7 ultimate



Hello to everyone. Having the same problem, I've downloaded hddscan in order to perform a smart test but it says unknown disk, so cant do anything....help

__________________
jresin_1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts