Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Will DBAN, or KillDisk bypass security freeze?

This is a discussion on Will DBAN, or KillDisk bypass security freeze? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I was using HDAT2, and I set a freeze, as well as security lock. I don't have another PC to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2011, 03:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



I was using HDAT2, and I set a freeze, as well as security lock.

I don't have another PC to use, and I don't open PC's, so I wouldn't be able to reset anything. I have a eMachines desktop PC, and Phoenix Award BIOS. Will DBAN, or KillDisk remove the freeze, and the lock? I know on some forums to my threads they said it will do the job to bypass it.

__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 08:54 AM   #2
Tech Hardware Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,122
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Are you talking about encryption on the disk? or is there a password for BIOS ?

__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 09:11 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



HPA security lock as well as it's locked out in a frozen state. Will wiping the drive bypass, and disable security and unlock it?

It doesn't prompt me for any passwords. I locked it out using a low level format tool that accesses the HPA.
__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 09:15 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,223
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Wiping the drive does exactly that wipes the drive
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 09:23 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Wiping the drive does exactly that wipes the drive
Will wiping the drive remove the HPA, and unlock the security lock command that bypasses the BIOS?

Someone told me to use a tool for debugging BIOS code to disable security lock command.

I don't have any of those tools.
__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 09:31 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,223
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



What do you not understand about wiping a drive the software zeros the drive
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:11 PM   #7
Moderator - Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,390
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



DBAN and KillDisk set all bytes on the disk to zero. Nothing more, nothing less. It will not in any way bypass or circumvent any protection method that is in the BIOS or external to the drive.

I am not familiar with HDAT2 so I don't know how it works.
__________________
LMiller7 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:13 PM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,223
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



This is it http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&sou...xoFWKURT7r75_Q
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:20 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by LMiller7 View Post
DBAN and KillDisk set all bytes on the disk to zero. Nothing more, nothing less. It will not in any way bypass or circumvent any protection method that is in the BIOS or external to the drive.

I am not familiar with HDAT2 so I don't know how it works.
LMiller7,

How can I bypass it? I have a 3 page thread going on over at HDAT2 forums, but I'm not sure on how to bypass it. He's trying to explain to me, but I'm not understaing.

I don't have another PC. I don't have a PC with security lock disabled. This is the only PC.

I won't open the PC. I don't even have a screw driver.

He tool me to get a tool for debugging BIOS code to disable security lock command. What tool is he talking about?

I have a blank hard drive.

I am using tools I have which are Hiren's tools.

Does he mean debugging BIOS code as in passwords?

What are my other options?
__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:24 PM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,223
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi why are you not asking this in that forum it is never a good idea to have posts in multiple places it just leads to confusion and the answers can be conflicting
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:30 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



He is confusing me over there. I honestly don't understand all 3 pages of my thread. I'm sorry about that. I can't help it that I have a IQ score two scores lower then normal that makes me learn slower.

I don't mean to have threads all over the place. I'm looking for someone that doesn't speak advanced.
__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:33 PM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,223
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Ok why don't you give us a link to the thread and maybe someone here can explain it in a clearer way, try copying the address of the thread from the address bar at the top of the page, and then paste it in this thread
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:38 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



HDAT2 forum • View topic - How do I enable HPA, so I can erase my entire drive?

I loaded it up on the first page. I hope that helps. Thank you for your time.
__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 04:13 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



Would KillCMOS be considered a tool for debugging BIOS code? If so, I didn't have a password set to get into the BIOS. I did run that tool anyway. I believe that HPA still has a freeze on it. Should I just ignore the freeze?

Another thing, HDAT2 gave me bad sectors starting at Drive 0, and through my entire drive. I tried running KillDisk, but it couldn't erase because of bad sectors. I am running HDD Regenerator. Will that recover my drive?
__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 05:50 AM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,223
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hmm personally I would get a new drive
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 06:11 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Hmm personally I would get a new drive
I don't to get a new drive. I rather use this one, and I rather try to recover it myself.

Would HDD Regenerator recover the bad sectors starting at Drive 0?

If yes, should I just ignore the HPA freeze, and erase my drive after regenerator?
__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 07:39 AM   #17
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,223
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



You can try but with bad sectors it will be liable to fail pretty soon
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 05:02 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



I tried running a diagnostic test earlier on my drive using Norton Disk Doctor (NDD), and it couldn't run it because my MBR is damaged, so I press yes, to correct it, and it couldn't correct it. The recommendations were doing a LLF to do it.

KillDisk won't do it because it's giving me errors on Sector 1, Drive 0.

DBAN is taking in my drive through the GUI part, but it's taking about 2500 hours. I set it on depends on rounds, and set it to 1, and it takes an estimate about 2 months, so I went back in, and left it on default which is 3 passes, and about 2-3 months to complete.
__________________
php111 is offline  
Old 10-13-2011, 10:07 PM   #19
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



php111 you post about wiping the drive and specific areas yet the later post you talk about "recovery" which is it ? do you want to wipe the drive and all area's or are you attempting data recovery ? It sounds like your drive is bad which is why its taking so long for these process's to complete however if you have ran dban and other wiping tools data recovery is no longer possible as you have zeroed out the sectors.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 05:22 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
OS: Windows XP Pro 32Bit



Will DBAN zero out my drive if I set it to depends on rounds, and use 1, and just wait for it to complete?

__________________
php111 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Probably Phished; Avira scans incomplete; Winpatrol stalls while"verifying startup pr
Hi there, E here. Probably got Phished while signing into redbox.com located via google search vice saved link :( Multiple Avira scans incomplete; Winpatrol stalls while "verifying startup programs" forcing reboot; linking attach.zip to post also froze pc requiring reboot. 2nd attempt at...
ebernheisel Resolved HJT Threads 50 09-29-2011 12:27 PM
3TB HDD won't format
I recently bought a 3TB 5400RPM hard drive and placed it in an enclosure. I orginially had connected it to my PC via USB 2.0 and formatted the entire drive and everything seemed to be in working order. After that I decided to connect the drive via eSATA because of the speed increase. When...
UhOhOhNo Hard Drive Support 8 09-13-2011 09:22 PM
Can someone help me see what's up?
I'm a real computer noob I don't know exactly what's going on but ill try to describe it, mostly I'm concerned about a keylogger though. The other problems are every now and then on Google I'll click a link and I'll get sent to some random website, sometimes outta nowhere a new tab will open up to...
soboman Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 13 05-13-2011 03:20 PM
Aggravating Google Redirect Virus on Wife's Computer
my wife's laptop suddenly is getting the redirect on google searches. i know this is one of your common problems to fix. i had the same problem on my computer about a year ago and your help was the only way i got rid of it on my computer. this computer runs updated version of webroot securities....
scott1nc Inactive Malware Help Topics 36 04-20-2011 05:27 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 04:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts