Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Wester Digital My Book - Won't let me access any files saying "you need to format"

This is a discussion on Wester Digital My Book - Won't let me access any files saying "you need to format" within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have a Western Digital My Book Home Edition external HDD which i have been using for a few

Closed Thread

Old 10-29-2008, 03:46 AM   #1
Registered Member

Confused

Hi, I have a Western Digital My Book Home Edition external HDD which i have been using for a few months. I use a USB connection to my computer which i am currently running Vista. Previous i was runnin XP until about two months ago.

My HDD was running fine on both systems until the other night when i plugged it in and the name of the disk in my computer now just says local disk f:, instead of the name which i had named it. When i click on it to access it it comes up saying you need to format this disk to use it. I have alot of files on there that i really need can someone please help.

I rang western digitals support line up and some yobbo who i could barely hear, and i mean barely, told me that i need to google some data recovery software to recover my data and then take it back to the store of purchase for a replacement.

I have searched for some data recovery software but it all seems to be a load of crap.

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP. I DONT REALLY CARE ABOUT THE HDD I JUST WANT MY DATA.

Thanks for your time, much appreciated.

Old 10-29-2008, 04:08 AM   #2
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to cconner6156 Send a message via MSN to cconner6156 Send a message via Yahoo to cconner6156

Suggestion Go into SAFE MODE an check if it still does that problem? Or run Check disk on that.

Old 10-29-2008, 09:39 AM   #3
Registered Member

I have the same problem! Please visit my thread!
Old 10-30-2008, 01:54 AM   #4
Registered Member