Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

WD800U017 11-Cable Test::Read diagnostics sector error

This is a discussion on WD800U017 11-Cable Test::Read diagnostics sector error within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a WD800U017 Passport USB Drive that will not reconize under computer in Vista. It does detect it under


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2009, 05:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



I have a WD800U017 Passport USB Drive that will not reconize under computer in Vista. It does detect it under Device manager. I ran WD diagnostics and got the following 11-Cable Test::Read diagnostics sector error. I have some very important info on this disk drive I need. Can I get the info off? Any help would be great!!

__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 06:19 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Pull the disk out of the enclosure, and install it internally in a desktop and see if you can access it that way.

__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 06:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



Hey raptor_pa,

I did as you asked, But do not have an ata cable to connect it to my desktop. Is there any other way to check it? What about buying one of these

http://cgi.ebay.com/2-5-SATA-Serial-ATA-HDD-Hard-Drive-Disk-Case-Enclosure_W0QQitemZ320353369710QQcmdZViewItemQQptZPCC_Drives_Storage_Internal?hash=item320353369710&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1234%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 09:04 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



That is still using USB, same limitations as the enclosure. Is this a 2.5 or 3.5 inch drive? I assume you only have SATA ports available on your desktop? Or are the PATA ports and just no cable? There are adapters for PATA drive to SATA interface, just have to be sure it is that and not SATA drive to PATA interface.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 12:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



Its a 2.5" drive. I have an old desktop with just PATA connectors. Is there an adapter will connect the drive to the desktop?

thanks
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 12:51 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Yep 3.5 ide to 2.5 IDE http://www.provantage.com/startech-ide4044~7STRT06X.htm We use them all the time for Laptop drive recoveries
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 04:47 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



Thanks raptor I've ordered the part, Hopefully it will be here this week. I'll try it and keep you updated.
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 01:17 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



Ok really confused I ordered the part but, the 2.5 hard drive end doesn't fit. The adapter has a 44-pin female IDE connector and a 40-pin male IDE connector. My hard drive is this http://cgi.ebay.com/WDC-SCORPIO-WD80...3286.m20.l1116

If I have to order another part let me know and I will. I'll just send this one back!!

Thanks
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 03:55 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



There is no sata cable with the adapter?
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 04:02 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



It did not? Was it supposed to?
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 04:47 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Just looked at the link for the adapter... you had said earlier
"I did as you asked, But do not have an ata cable to connect it to my desktop."
That's why I pointed you to the ATA adapter for the drive rather than a SATA....
Sorry I was confused......
Just to calrify you have IDE -PATA - Ribbon cables only right?
If so then this is what you need something like this http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...88&lid=1022056
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 05:29 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



Thanks raptor That does look right!! Ordered and when It comes I will keep you posted !! Thanks again!!
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 04:39 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



Hey raptor hope your on!! just got the part!! I received the part and am having some issues. I need to figure out how to set it as the slave. Every time I try it sets it as the master and the computer will not boot. There are no directions on how to set it as the slave.
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 05:41 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



Heres what going on when I put the adapter on it keeps acting like the master and won't actually boot from the real master that has the operating system on it. I have tried setting the real master as Master with slave and still get it. The 2.5 hard drive has pins to change but does not let me now how to set it as a slave. Any suggestions?
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 06:17 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Is there a jumper on the adapter? Sata drives have no master/slave option since you don't have multiple drives on teh same port. Usually teh adapters have a jumper to set it to act like a master or slave.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 06:00 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



I found the jumper and tried to boot up it state " Seconday master HDD Failure" and won't boot up!! I am screwed correct!!
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 06:37 AM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Check the BIOS and see if it is found there by correct model ID. You should not be trying to boot from the drive, but from teh current drive in the desktop.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 06:10 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



I unhooked my DVD burner and hooked it up as a slave. The bios would not detect it. I then hooked it as a slave after my Primary master HDD. I then rebooted and the bios would not detect it but when I tried to boot the computer got a primary slave HDD failure.
__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 06:12 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Is the drive spinning up when power is applied? If so does it make any other unusual noise- clicking, scratching ,grinding?
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 06:46 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
OS: XP-Home



It does power up and it makes a clicking noise

__________________
pyrotaz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts