Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

WD "Passport" Not showing up in My Computer

This is a discussion on WD "Passport" Not showing up in My Computer within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently got a used but supposedly functional Western Digital "passport" external hard drive from a friend of mine who


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2011, 08:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
OS: Windows XP



I recently got a used but supposedly functional Western Digital "passport" external hard drive from a friend of mine who said that he couldn't get it working on his mac, but that if I could use it on my PC I could have it. When plugged into the computer, the thing vibrates and the "Safely Remove Hardware" program boots on the system tray, but nothing appears in My Computer that I can access. However, Disk Management does show it, albeit with no name. It's status is listed as "Healthy (GPT Protective Partition)" and it appears to have 100% of it's space free. But when I right click on it, every option except "Help" is grayed out.

It also appears in the Safely Remove Hardware window, which lists it as a USB Mass Storage Device containing both a "WD My Passport 070A USB Device" and a "WD SES Device", which I assume is part of the same thing since they're both listed under the USB Mass Storage Device and the only other things I have plugged in currently are an ethernet cable, keyboard, mouse, monitor, and headphones.

I don't know if this means it's broken or fully functional but somehow locked. Near as he can remember, my friend bought it new about a year ago and could never get it working, and it's spent most of the interim gathering dust, but is otherwise in the same state it was when he bought it new; however, if there's some easy way to set the drive to be invisible, I can't say for sure he didn't do that at some point while trying to get it to work, as knowing him he probably clicked on every option available at least once.

But then, I don't think he ever asked you guys. :D Any ideas? Disk Management can't seem to affect it and My Computer can't seem to detect it. Third option?

__________________
Badababa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 06:13 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Sounds like it is formatted with a MAC using a GPT type partitioning structure. What OS are you using?

__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 07:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
CN_Rail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 81
OS: Windows Vista SP2, Windows 7 SP1, Windows XP SP2



He says he's using XP.
I found that the so-called "WD Smartware" wasn't very smart, and corrupted. So we brought it back and got a Click-free drive, that uses Windows Backup. It doesn't need smartware.
It was not smart, actually so dumm that I called it "WD dummware."
__________________
CN_Rail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 05:23 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
OS: Windows XP



I am running Windows XP Professional Version 2002 with Service Pack 2. The computer is using an Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU, E8400 @ 3.00GHz, 250 GB of RAM, Physical Address Extension. ... I don't know what most of that means, but hopefully it's relevant.
__________________
Badababa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 04:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
CN_Rail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 81
OS: Windows Vista SP2, Windows 7 SP1, Windows XP SP2



If I'm not mistaken the drive may need to be reformated for Windows XP. This is not a very nice procedure, but that should solve the problem.
Never done it myself though.
__________________
CN_Rail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 09:30 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
OS: Windows XP



Hrm. Any idea how to?
__________________
Badababa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 05:08 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
CN_Rail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 81
OS: Windows Vista SP2, Windows 7 SP1, Windows XP SP2



Bonjour!
Try here.
How to Format a Secondary or External Hard Drive in Windows XP | eHow.com
Wish you luck,
Au revoir!

__________________
CN_Rail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LED 1080p not showing full frame from computer
Hi, I have 3 monitors connected to the same output Hdmi from my computer through a hdcp 1.3 hdmi splitter. The 3 monitors are -Samsung 46" LED 1080p 60hz -NEC 25" LCD 1080p 60hz -Projector ~" 1080p 60hz The Projector and NEC show the full frame but NOT the Samsung, crop half inch all...
GouDZ Home Theater 4 05-31-2011 07:09 PM
seagate external HD not showing up on my computer
Hi everyone, I have a seagate expansion drive 1TB. I used it with Bell HD receiver to convert it to a PVR. it worked perfectly. Now I wanted to transfer some downloaded videos onto it. I connected it through USB to the computer ( win. 7), the "safely remove" icon comes up saying driver installed,...
ttoryy Hard Drive Support 5 02-14-2011 01:36 AM
computer connecting to two networks (one unidentified)?
Recently I had a problem where my desktop computer running Windows Vista could not make a wireless connection to the internet. I have a cable modem connected by Ethernet cable to a wireless router, and all other computers and devices in the house (e.g. laptop & iPod) were able to connect to my...
lkadlec Networking Support 48 02-11-2011 12:41 AM
Various Computer Problems
A while ago my monitor started to turn off randomly after varying times of use, leaving me with a black screen with a message saying "D-VID Power-saving Mode", and my computer itself still running. Since then, I have changed my power settings so that my computer will not go into standby if left...
Bananastorm Windows XP Support 3 01-15-2011 09:11 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts