Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support


Upgraded from HDD to SSD

This is a discussion on Upgraded from HDD to SSD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've just installed a new SSD into my computer, with the intention of using my old HDD for storage. I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2017, 01:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 66
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to eaglehound

I've just installed a new SSD into my computer, with the intention of using my old HDD for storage.

I used AOMEI Partition Assistant to have all the files from my HDD on the SSD and have set it up to boot from the SSD. I'm just unsure if I've done everything correctly, my PC feels much slower currently so I've probably missed out a few steps and cocked the whole thing up.

My disk management still also shows my old HDD as the boot, page file, crash dump, primary partition.

If I haven't cocked anything up yet, what are the next steps I'm supposed to take to get this all up and running properly?

I've attached the images of AOMEI and the disk management.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	disk management.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	113.8 KB
ID:	306490   Click image for larger version

Name:	partition assistant.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	92.0 KB
ID:	306498  
eaglehound is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2017, 02:53 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 20,107
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I'm not sure exactly what you did. I prefer cloning hdd to ssd. Sometimes the software is packaged with the new drive.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 05:17 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,602
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


As has been reported, it looks like you didn't Clone your HDD to the SSD. When you clone a drive, it wipes the Destination drive in the process before restoring the clone.
There is a partition on the SSD called E:\Backerupper. Looks like this partition was created previously either by the manufacturer or you, and then you restored an image to the remainder of the capacity of the SSD.
I would start again, this time use a well know cloning software like Acronis, or Macrium Reflect, create a Bootable CD or USB Flash drive in the software and boot to that to do the Clone operation to the SSD.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:19 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 66
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to eaglehound

Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
I would start again, this time use a well know cloning software like Acronis, or Macrium Reflect, create a Bootable CD or USB Flash drive in the software and boot to that to do the Clone operation to the SSD.
Okay, so I've done all of this so far, what else needs to be done?

Thanks for the help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	reflect.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	306562  
eaglehound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:46 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,602
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


This looks good!
now boot into Setup (Bios) go to the Boot tab, Move the SSD to First Boot Device, move the HDD lower in the Boot order or take it out completely of the boot order. Save and Exit.
You now should boot from the SSD. You can leave it as is. You can remove the HDD and keep it in a safe place as a backup if the SSD Fails, Or If after a few days or weeks, everything is working well, you can Format the HDD to regain the full capacity and use it as a storage drive.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:58 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 66
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to eaglehound

Alright, that's made the SSD come up as the boot, page file, crash dump and primary partition.

So it'd be sensible to wait a few days to make sure everything is working well, then after that I can format my HDD to use for storage?
eaglehound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:34 PM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 20,107
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Correct.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 12:59 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 66
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to eaglehound

Brilliant, thanks again guys, you've all been a great help.
eaglehound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD V HDD Power consumption
Hi all, probably been covered many times before but besides the benefit of speed of the SSD over the older mechanical HDD drives do SSD disks bring much on the power savings front. I only ask as my Acer 5920 died this week (just wont turn on, and i am fed up of battling with the bloody thing and...
Dave Cummings Hard Drive Support 2 04-10-2017 01:53 AM
Transfer rate from HDD to SSD very low, and more
So I was moving a video file (1.65GB) from my HDD to my SSD, and while I could usually transfer a file from HDD to HDD or from HDD to SSD, etc, it took nearly 25 minutes for the file transfer, with numerous points in time where the transfer rate would be 0 bytes/s. Why does this happen? It's a...
HomicidalBunny Windows 8, 8.1 Support 7 01-25-2015 04:27 PM
[SOLVED] Upgrading from HDD to SSD on DV6 6050se
Hello Guys, I am looking to upgrade my laptop from HDD to SSD. I have already upgraded the operating system to Windows 8 Pro and the Ram to 8GB. Now these specs sheet on HP website leave out two important things that I wanted to know for my upgrade. 1) Will I be able to connect the...
wazzi Hard Drive Support 4 03-29-2013 11:43 AM
SSD is recognized as HDD by Z68X-UD3H-B3
Bios 'sees' my SSD as an IDE drive. In fact, classifies it as a slave to my HDD. The SSD has Windows7 installed on it and serves only that. Documents and programs are routed to the HDD. I get the message that says something like "This BIOS only supports Hard Disk Drives..." after the POST...
lAresl Hard Drive Support 4 02-05-2013 01:56 PM
RAID with SSD and HDD?
Hi, I don't think this is possible but I have a 90GB SSD and a 500GB HDD in my new PC and was trying to find ways of easily using both simultaneously. The OS is installed on the SSD. I plan to use the SSD for the OS, regularly used programs and perhaps a few games. I'd like my main file system...
alecb Hard Drive Support 2 11-02-2012 04:23 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com