Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

[SOLVED] Windows XP can't find my hard drive

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows XP can't find my hard drive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am using an HP a1530N computer with a Lakeport Leucite P5LP-LE motherboard. I am trying to load a fresh


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2011, 02:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP


Pin

I am using an HP a1530N computer with a Lakeport Leucite P5LP-LE motherboard. I am trying to load a fresh copy of Windows XP on to a brand new (formatted) Western Digital 1.0 TB (WD10EADS) hard drive.

When windows gets to the point of asking where I want windows loaded, there are no options. It does not recognize the hard drive.

I have also tried another Western Digital 250 gig hard drive (WD2500JS) with the same result.

During either hard drive installation, it is the only hard drive on the computer.

Any suggestions?

Doug The Pilot

__________________
DougThePilot is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 02:34 PM   #2
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,327
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

Installing XP on a SATA drive requires an additional step:

XP Help And Support: 108. How Do I Install Windows XP On A SATA Hard Drive

However, Most newer BIOS allow an Alternate method for SATA . . Go into the bios and check the "Sata Operation" setting,

change it to "Raid Autodetect/ATA if it is not already. Now try to install XP ( could be IDE Mode, Compatibility Mode or Legacy Mode - different BIOS use different terms )

some will say IDE instead of ATA)

If there are no such settings you'll need to slipstream the sata drivers on the XP CD, follow the instructions in this guide :

How To Slipstream SATA Drivers Into XP CD

or

Resolving "Setup did not find any hard disk drives" during Windows XP Installation - How-To Geek

Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 04:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP


Pin

Rich,

Thank you for your response.

Here are the settings on the computer:
First Channel Device 0 WDC WD10EADS - 11
Third Channel Device 1 CreativeCD4833

Plug and Play OS - Yes
Primary Video Adapter - PCI
PS/2 Mouse - Auto Detect
OnBoard PATA/SATA Adapters - Both
SATA Mode - RAID
USB Legacy Mode Support - Auto
Onboard LAN - Enabled
Onboard Audio - Auto

I/O Device Configuration
Parallel Port - Enabled
Base I/O Address - 378
Mode - ECP
Interrupt - IRQ7

The SATA mode was on IDE where I was having no luck. I changed it to RAID and still no luck. The only other option is AHCI.

The first option you gave talked about getting drivers for what I assume to be the HDD. Western Digital website does not have any drivers for the 1.0 TB hard drive. Can you confirm the drivers needed are for the HDD and not the motherboard? And if I did find them, it states to install them after pressing F6 from a floppy drive. My computer does not have a floppy drive.

While I am awaiting a response I will try option 2 - Slipstreaming.

I very much appreciate your time and thank you for your help.

Doug The Pilot
__________________
DougThePilot is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 05:13 PM   #4
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,327
OS: XP, Win 7



Set the SATA Mode to IDE and you should not need the SATA drivers. If you set it to AHCI the slipstream should work. You need the SATA controller drivers that are intended to be use in the installation
Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP



Rich,

Just wanted to check in. Took me a bit to figure out the process but once I did, the Slipstream idea worked great.

Thank you so much for your help.

Doug
__________________
DougThePilot is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 05:46 AM   #6
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,327
OS: XP, Win 7



Great . . thanks for posting back!!

Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad Image error
Please help me to remove the problem that is causing the 'Bad Image' error. It appears multiple times when I start my computer and then everytime I open a program. I hope I have correctly run the logs you require. Details below. DDS (Ver_10-12-12.02) - NTFSx86 Run by Administrator at ...
lchiv Resolved HJT Threads 11 02-13-2011 06:44 PM
[SOLVED] windows doesnt see my new hard drive in 'my computer'
I was given a free 500GB WD hard drive by my work (new) and i thought i could just plug it in to my sata conections and power up...but i cant 'see' it. The new drive doesnt appear in 'My computer'. My old drive is still there and functioning properly... this was my install method: 1. open...
twenty4seven Hard Drive Support 1 02-09-2011 01:40 PM
Viruses, Lagging, Crashing, explorer, svchost, system32 and more..
I'm at wits end with my computer and think I'll have to get it sent to a professional but alas, I'm in Oz, I don't know who to go to or what prices they charge or how long they hold it for. I start uni again in a month and I want a working computer - so this is my last resort! Will try to explain...
sillychook Resolved HJT Threads 20 02-06-2011 03:12 AM
[b]cant play ghost recon[/b]
i cant play ghost recon on my pc. . when i click the ghost recon.exe. . it opens but suddenly it closes and nothing happens. . pls help me. . here is my pc spec: processor: intel pentium 4 1.8ghz. ram: 510mb video card: nvidia geforce fx 5200 128 mb, direct x version: 9.0c and here is the...
kyuubi08 PC Gaming Support 2 01-16-2011 09:39 PM
critical error windows can't find hard disk space
i have a lenovo that is fairly new. My computer was working fine and then all of a sudden i'm getting several error messages. A box is coming up that is called a disk optimizer activation. Another message box i receive says "hard drive not found. Missing hard drive". Another error message box i get...
invoice Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 2 01-15-2011 03:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts