Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

[SOLVED] Where to buy new oasis desktop 1607p usb adapter?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Where to buy new oasis desktop 1607p usb adapter? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello My external WD 1TB hdd's usb slot has broken and I was wondering where I could buy a new


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2011, 08:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 76
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium N



Hello
My external WD 1TB hdd's usb slot has broken and I was wondering where I could buy a new oasis desktop 1607p usb adapter
4061-705078-001 Rev.AB ?
which I can slot into the hdd and replace the old one.
All of my family photos are on there and any help would be apprechiated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1140.jpg
Views:	271
Size:	197.8 KB
ID:	96610   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1139.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	205.0 KB
ID:	96611   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1137.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	249.0 KB
ID:	96612  


__________________
cloaked1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 09:55 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,045
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



All you really need is something like this:
Newegg.com - Thermaltake BlacX N0028USU External Hard Drive SATA Enclosure Docking Station 2.5" & 3.5" USB 2.0

You could also go with an external enclosure if you'd rather not have a drive dock.

__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 10:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 76
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium N



Would this work?
Oasis Desktop SATA Western Digital 3.5 External Hard Drive Adapter 1607P 4060-705078-001 - Western Digital External Hard Drive
__________________
cloaked1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 12:14 PM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,713
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Why do all that? Just buy a new external case and put the hard drive in it so you can keep using the drive.
Newegg.com - Vantec NexStar 3 3.5" IDE to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure (Midnight Blue) - Model NST-360U2-BL
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 06:57 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 523
OS: Win98SE



What is the part number of the large square chip on the 4061-705078 bridge board?

If the chip is an Initio INIC-1607P, then the data should be accessible via a standard USB enclosure. Otherwise, if the chip is an INIC-1607E, then the data will be encrypted, whether or not you have set a password. In this case you will need to purchase the original PCB from the same model external drive, and with the same capacity.
__________________
fzabkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 06:06 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 76
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium N



Thanks for your help on the matter.
I think I will look at a usb enclosure.
__________________
cloaked1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 06:22 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
OS: xp sp2



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-M View Post
Why do all that? Just buy a new external case and put the hard drive in it so you can keep using the drive.
Newegg.com - Vantec NexStar 3 3.5" IDE to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure (Midnight Blue) - Model NST-360U2-BL
Do all of what? Since the hard drive is already out of the case anyway, it takes two seconds to slip off the old 1607P and put on the new one. I've done it. Then it takes another thirty seconds to slip the drive back in the old case.
__________________
Shiggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:00 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 4
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium SP1



I have got the EXACT same problem: I've got a WD 2.0TB external hard drive (WD20EARS) and the USB slot has broken off the adapter PCB. (With very little use I might add!) I've already got the case open (not much work) and just want to replace the adapter (Oasis Desktop 1607p) rather than get an external dock. The Initio chip is INIC-1607P.

However, it looks like the docking station is cheaper (single docks ranging $28-$35) than the PCB ($44).
__________________
TeflonDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 06:36 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 8



Hey, the chip that came with my WD External is the Initio INIC-1607P chip, on the advice of a post here I bought a USB dock and IT DOES NOT WORK - it asks to re-format the drive the same as if you plug directly in with SATA.

Also the board is called 4060-705078-001 on mine
__________________
kamojamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 02:53 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 523
OS: Win98SE



@kamojamo, what was the original problem?

FYI, the following site lists Initio's chips and their functions. Notice that the "E" versions incorporate AES encryption but the "P" versions do not.

Initio Product Line-up:
Silicon Technology

INIC-1607P SATA to USB Bridge Controller IC
INIC-1607E SATA to USB Bridge Controller IC with AES

INIC-1609P SATA to USB Bridge Controller IC
INIC-1609E SATA to USB Bridge Controller IC with AES

INIC-1610P SATA to USB and eSATA Bridge Controller IC
INIC-1610E SATA to USB and eSATA Bridge Controller IC with AES

As for your present problem, if Windows had been unable to access the partition table in sector 0, then it would have seen your drive as unitialised and the space as unallocated, in which case you would have been invited you to initialise your drive.
__________________
fzabkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:37 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,249
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
it asks to re-format the drive the same as if you plug directly in with SATA.
The USB dock is working if it recognizes your HDD (same as being plugged internally to a computer) The Partition Table (the table of contents) has become corrupted on the HDD. Changing the adapter will not make a difference.
You can try and recover your files by using the free TestDisk I have had the best luck with GetDataBack. You will need another drive of the same size or larger to restore your files to.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:43 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 8



Thanks for reply fzabkar,

So my initial problem was same as OP's, usb socket broke off oasis circuit.

The initio chip in my case is the 1607P chip not E.

If I plug the wd external sata drive straight into the motherboard I get the same problem as when i use a new usb sata dock - it says it is in an unrecognized format and needs to be reformatted. Rather than just asking for initialization.

I've since ordered another circuit from eBay but wanted to post here that USB sata dock didn't work for me as I bought it after reading here.
__________________
kamojamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:47 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 8



Thanks for your info spunk.bunk,
Strangely enough, while I'm waiting for the new oasis circuit to arrive, i bent the broken-off usb slot on my old one back into shape and when i squeeze it onto the circuit in just the right place, i can use the external drive as normal. So is there something else on the oasis circuit that is making it readable?
__________________
kamojamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 05:39 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 523
OS: Win98SE



@kamojamo, I hope I'm not mistaken about the INIC-1607P. If your drive is actually encrypted, then that would put a spanner in the works. The only thing I can think of is that you may have one of the newer products where the bridge firmware is configured with an LBA size of 4KB rather than 512 bytes. If this were the case, then Disk Management would have reported a partition size that was 1/8th of the total capacity of the HDD.

What is the model number and capacity of your external drive?

Can you show us the contents of sector 0? You could use a disc editor such as DMDE. Select your physical disk, escape out of the partitions menu and then select Mode -> Hexadecimal.

DMDE - DM Disk Editor and Data Recovery Software:
About DMDE (DM Disk Editor and Data Recovery Software)

Alternatively, we may be able to see the partition table and boot sector with Microsoft's Sector Inspector:
http://www.users.on.net/~fzabkar/SecInspect.zip

If you extract the above archive to the one folder and execute the SIrun.bat file, then this will generate a report file named SIout.txt.
__________________
fzabkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:10 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 8



I'm happy to do this stuff to help you out with understanding it but I bought the new board and the old one is working with the usb bit squeezed together so i have got data off. So are you suggesting those things to do to help me with my individual case? Or is this a general thing to futher your understanding? I'm more than happy to help just you don't need to worry about my situation
__________________
kamojamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:04 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 523
OS: Win98SE



Your feedback would be most appreciated. I see a lot of questions like yours and I would hate to be providing misleading information to other users.

To add to the confusion, I have since found the following eBay listing:
WD My Book Essential PCB 4060-705078-001 SUPPORT ALL Rev. Control Board | eBay

AIUI, My Book Essentials drives are encrypted, yet the chip on the bridge board is an INIC-1607P:
http://ec-part.com/ebay/wd/705078/IMG_0203.JPG

I'm wondering whether the listing is in error, or whether some Essentials models were not encrypted, or whether the INIC-1607P is capable of more than it appears.

BTW, congratulations on recovering your data.

__________________
fzabkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help please WIFI
around 12 or so on Friday my wifi connection went out. I tried everything to no avail. I looked in the device mangers as to see if something was wrong with the drivers and well, everything was fine, no cautionary signs. Also I had windows diagnosis it and it said there was a driver issue, which got...
sigma26 Networking Support 100 07-28-2011 08:42 AM
[SOLVED] Installed Win 7 - Case become loud
Hi all. I know that im profoundly deaf but im really not happy with my PC as i installed Win 7 and the noise started to raise since extracting windows installion and thought it will be gone as when Win7 loads but since win7 start. the case begin to get loud and loud. I can feel the heavy...
CrazyComputerMan Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 9 02-24-2011 01:52 PM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM
Infinite Hourglass in Windows Explorer
Hello, TSFers! I'm experiencing a problem that consistently forces me to a hard shutdown. Occasionally--but without fail at some point--when I'm using Windows Explorer to navigate to a file on my external drive, I get a "permanent" (i.e., it'll go on indefinitely) hourglass once I click on the...
misha.spisok Windows XP Support 9 01-29-2011 04:11 PM
Trying to recover data using SATA to USB Adapter
So like the title says, I am trying to recover some data on my seagate barracuda hard drives (80gb and 120gb). The hard drives actually function correctly, the processor that I was using broke. In any case, I thought the best way to do this would be to use a SATA to USB adapter and transfer all...
coldize Hard Drive Support 9 01-24-2011 03:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts