Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

[SOLVED] SMART Status not available.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] SMART Status not available. within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I can't get a SMART status for both of my SATA Western Digital drives. RAID is disabled and SMART is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2010, 11:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7: 64 bit



I can't get a SMART status for both of my SATA Western Digital drives. RAID is disabled and SMART is enabled for both drives in BIOS. My IDE hard drive doesn't seem to have any issues. Strange thing is SpeedFan can retrieve the SMART status of all the drives.

I'm using the DLDIAG tools provided by Western Digital.



__________________
rpk1974 is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 05:39 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,917
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


Are you using a version of the WD tool that is compatible with Windows 7 x64? v1.21 is the latest

http://support.wdc.com/product/downl...&sid=3&lang=en

__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 09:38 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7: 64 bit



Yes, I'm using the latest version that's compatible with Windows 7 x64.

Also, I've used Active Boot Disk to try and see the SMART status and it's the same thing. For some reason, it thinks SMART is disabled.

If it helps, my motherboard is an MSI K9N SLI Platinum MS-7250.
__________________
rpk1974 is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 09:58 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,917
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


Have you looked on Western Digital's site for any FAQ's?
If Speedfan sees the data, then I see no reason why the WD utility shouldn't.
__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 10:30 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7: 64 bit



Yes, I've submitted a few post on their forum and I've also sent a trouble ticket to Western Digital about a week ago. Users in the forum couldn't provide an answer and Western Digital hasn't replied back.

I should have added that both drives tend to freeze periodically, too(which is why I want to know the SMART status).

The 1.5 TB is the worst and freezes after a few minute from boot up. I've ran the DLDIAG extended test via DOS boot up disk and after a five hour scan, it reported nothing wrong.

I'm wondering if it could be an issue with my motherboard's SATA ports. Ever heard of anything like that?
__________________
rpk1974 is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 10:37 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,917
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


What size (watts, 12v amps, brand) power supply do you have?
Have you always had this problem or did it just start happening?
__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 10:52 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7: 64 bit



I've never had this problem before. It started happening about two weeks ago. These Western Digital drives are also fairly new. I bought both of them less than two months ago.

My power supply is 450 Watt Raidmax ATX12v.
__________________
rpk1974 is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 07:34 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7: 64 bit



Problem has been fixed. It was my PSU all along. I bought an awesome Corsair TX650W to replace it. So far no freezings. Also, the SMART readings seem to stem from incompatibility issues with either my mainboard, Windows 7 x64 or both. I'm able to get a SMART reading using Windows XP and Ubuntu 10.04.

Thanks for the help, Lead3.

__________________
rpk1974 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts