Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

[SOLVED] installing a SATA harddrive on an IDE laptop computer

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] installing a SATA harddrive on an IDE laptop computer within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I don't know the essential tools I need to build a SATA harddrive to IDE laptop computer converter adapter. Will


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2011, 01:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 51
OS: xp



I don't know the essential tools I need to build a SATA harddrive to IDE laptop computer converter adapter. Will my attempt to used a SATA harddrive on an IDE computer also be an impediment since on my 320 gb SATA laptop harddrive, I have windows xp as an OS and on my 60 gb IDE harddrive, I have linux as an OS?

__________________
Pentazoid is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 01:19 PM   #2
IT Specialist
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,959
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Hi Pentazoid,

Are you trying to use the SATA hard-drive as an extra hard-drive? If so, you can get an external SATA HDD enclosure and install the SATA hard-drive you have in the enclosure. Then the external enclosure will plug into the computer via USB cable.

__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.
DBCooper is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 01:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 51
OS: xp



Hi DeCooper

No, I am not trying to used the SATA harddrive as an add on . Rather, I want to completely USED my 320 gb SATA harddrive on my IDE laptop, instead of using the 60 gb IDE harddrive on my IDE laptop like I am currently doing now. I want to replace my 60 gb IDE harddrive with my 320 SATA gb harddrive via the SATA to ide converter adapter.

As I stated, not sure if this process will work considered the fact that I have a linux operator system on the 60 gb IDE harddrive and a windows vista operating system on the 320 gb SATA harddrive.
__________________
Pentazoid is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 02:30 PM   #4
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



How will you get the ide to sata adapter plus the sata hard drive to fit in the space that the IDE hard drive fits into now ? I haven't seen a laptop with the room to pull that off
__________________
Networks is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 02:38 PM   #5
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 15,902
OS: win7/win8/mint


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentazoid View Post
I don't know the essential tools I need to build a SATA harddrive to IDE laptop computer converter adapter. Will my attempt to used a SATA harddrive on an IDE computer also be an impediment since on my 320 gb SATA laptop harddrive, I have windows xp as an OS and on my 60 gb IDE harddrive, I have linux as an OS?

unless it is an external drive, it cannot be done.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 02:58 PM   #6
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,936
OS: Windows



Hi Pentazoid, this is a bit of a challenge but it may be possible.

First though you need to determine if the laptop will work with that size of a drive, often with laptops there is a limitation to the maximum size the chipset can recognize (ie: 128GB, 250GB, etc).

If thats okay then you will need a Serial ATA TO IDE Converter Board like this one 2.5" SATA Hard Drive to IDE 44 Pin Adapter For Laptop Drives
the problem now is will the drive and adapter fit the compartment as it is typically a snug fit for a drive alone.

Assuming that goes well, there is the matter of Windows OS (and Linux for that matter) builds itself during installation to use the hardware of the computer it is installed on. Which means you can't just take an OS installed on one computer and use it on any other computer.

Fortunately, there is a method to migrate your currently used Windows XP to work on new hardware. You can find a guide on this webpage, skip down to the heading Migrating to a Clean Installation Of Windows XP
__________________
Stu_computer is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 09:15 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 51
OS: xp



"First though you need to determine if the laptop will work with that size of a drive, often with laptops there is a limitation to the maximum size the chipset can recognize (ie: 128GB, 250GB, etc" How do I determine that? My 320 GB harddrive worked on a R51 thinkpad ibm laptop , but the only difference is that I now have a T43 thinkpad ibm laptop.

"f thats okay then you will need a Serial ATA TO IDE Converter Board like this one 2.5" SATA Hard Drive to IDE 44 Pin Adapter For Laptop Drives"

Thats it? Don't I need to attain a power cord and sata cords, along with the SATA to IDE coverter adapter? Or is that just for PC harddrives rather than laptop harddrives? If not, would I just attached the SATA to IDE converter onto the pins of my harddrive and just slide it into the harddrive slot?
__________________
Pentazoid is offline  
Old 04-04-2011, 09:20 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 51
OS: xp



Besides the issue of a harddrive being damaged or whether or not the harddrive type is IDE or SATA , is there some other fixable reason why a hard drive doesn't seem compatible with a laptop? The reason I asked is because my harddrive did not say that it was SATA. I just assumed that my IDE laptop isn't compatible with my 320 gb harddrive because I assumed it was a sata harddrive.
__________________
Pentazoid is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 01:16 AM   #9
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,936
OS: Windows



Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentazoid View Post
Besides the issue of a harddrive being damaged or whether or not the harddrive type is IDE or SATA , is there some other fixable reason why a hard drive doesn't seem compatible with a laptop? The reason I asked is because my harddrive did not say that it was SATA. I just assumed that my IDE laptop isn't compatible with my 320 gb harddrive because I assumed it was a sata harddrive.
if your talking about the thinkpad t43 specifically...there is Support list of Hard drives and if you install a different drive then you will get a 2010 error code and a loud beep when booting, it's annoying but not a problem.

still talking about the t43 specifically...if i remember right it uses ide drives but has a sata controller and sata-to-pata bridge connector for the ide drive interface and this can cause confusion for a linux OS.
__________________
Stu_computer is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 01:19 AM   #10
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,936
OS: Windows



Quote:
would I just attached the SATA to IDE converter onto the pins of my harddrive and just slide it into the harddrive slot?
thats correct.
no cables needed.
__________________
Stu_computer is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 05:36 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 51
OS: xp



Quote:
still talking about the t43 specifically...if i remember right it uses ide drives but has a sata controller and sata-to-pata bridge connector for the ide drive interface and this can cause confusion for a linux OS.
I am still kinda confused because I don't understand how entering a 320 GB windows vista OS hard drive with a sata-to-pata bridge connector into an ide drive interface slot will caused any6 confusion since I wouldn't even be using my 60 gb ide HDD that contained my linux OS on my laptop.
__________________
Pentazoid is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 07:02 AM   #12
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,936
OS: Windows



you were asking why the t43 does not seem compatible with some hard drives.

answered with two completely different reasons why that could happen and it has nothing to do with the adapter card your looking for.

t43 peculiarities:
1. bios programed to check for specific model number of hard drive used (uses a Support list of Hard drives).
2. has internal sata controller but takes an ide drive.

it was answered seperately as it does not have direct bearing on previous discussion. those are general issues with a t43.

ignore them, they do not interfere with the adapter card you need.
__________________
Stu_computer is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 07:31 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 51
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu_computer View Post

ignore them, they do not interfere with the adapter card you need.
Sorry don't mean to cause any sort of confusion.I will just outline the steps that I think I need to take to insert my 320 gb sata harddrive into my t43 ide interface laptop.

1. obtain a SATA to IDE interface laptop converter adapter which is one module and requires no sata cords or power cords.

2. Attach that converter adapter onto my 320 GB sata harddrive .

3. Remove 60 IDE harddrive from T43 thinkpad laptop harddrive slot.

4. Insert 320 GB sata harddrive with SATA to IDE interface laptop converter adapter attached which contains my WINDOWS VISTA OS.

5. Reinstall WINDOWS VISTA.

Is that outline about correct?
__________________
Pentazoid is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 08:59 AM   #14
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,936
OS: Windows



yes thats the correct procedure.

the only issue you will have is a 2010 error message but you can ignore it and continue.

the 2010 error happens because the new 320GB drive will not be one of the original 'supported drives' the bios checks for when booting.

it will happen every time you boot the laptop but you can just ignore it.
__________________
Stu_computer is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 11:37 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 51
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu_computer View Post
yes thats the correct procedure.

the only issue you will have is a 2010 error message but you can ignore it and continue.

the 2010 error happens because the new 320GB drive will not be one of the original 'supported drives' the bios checks for when booting.

it will happen every time you boot the laptop but you can just ignore it.
What 2.5" SATA Hard Drive to IDE 44 Pin Adapter For Laptop Drives do you think I should purchased for a T43 thinkpad harddrive? The one you showed me in the picture doesn't LOOKS like it would not fit into my harddrive slot, but I am not so sure.
__________________
Pentazoid is offline  
Old 04-10-2011, 07:47 PM   #16
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,907
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Your best bet would be to simply purchase the type of drive used in the laptop. Not change types and rely on an adapter. Most laptops only have room for standard hardware.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline  
Old 12-19-2012, 05:14 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Because you have a T43 (or other thinkpad), you can put the SATA drive into a caddy and insert it into the Ultrabay slot of your laptop. The Caddies are widely available and they cost $12.95 on EBay, at the moment. I'm not sure you can do this with other types of laptops, so you are fortunate in this respect.
__________________
systemBuilder is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 05:55 AM   #18
Gaming | Tech
Hardware Tech
Master Hatt Inspecteur
 
wkw427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,360
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


The last post was in April of 2011. I don't think they need any more help, as they haven't replied in almost two years.
__________________
Ego Sum Deus Quo Malum Caligo et Barathrum
Asking if the PC you bought/want to buy can run XYZ game on ABC settings "good" is like asking if a new car can go "fast". You can't measure "good" or "fast"

wkw427 is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 07:00 AM   #19
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,205
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Not the point wkw427 as users other than the poster read these threads and you could easily apply the same principle to a desktop anyway.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 12-21-2012, 10:52 AM   #20
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


This is an old thread thanks for the input systembuilder but it has been solved.

Please enjoy the rest of the forum.

This thread is now closed.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brother's computer had a rootkit, was reformatted, and now it isn't working properly
I did not know whether to post this Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help or in Windows XP Support. I apologize if this is in the wrong place. This is not a problem with my own computer, but with my brother's. He and his family are staying with us for a while and I guess their computer got a rootkit. They...
Piper Resolved HJT Threads 35 01-31-2011 02:09 PM
can't connect three computer after 4th laptop join network
My customer has 3 computer 1- Windows xp 2- Win7 3- Apple 4 new sony laptop. Vaio would not connect using WEP 40-bit key. Logged into Airport Extreme router with Airport setup utility for Windows from Apple. Updated firmware from 5.1.1 to 5.7. Reset Encryption from WEP to WPA/WPA2...
CEM Protocols and Routing 3 01-28-2011 11:00 PM
[SOLVED] Desktop Computer Disco's while laptop is on internet...
Ok weird situation but Im hoping all you smart guys out there can help me lol I have a Desktop computer running Windows XP. 2 Weeks ago I bought a laptop that has windows 7 on it and changed my router from the one I was running to a Belkin n150 wireless router so I could be free to roam...
Book1985 Networking Support 33 01-27-2011 04:27 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts