Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

[SOLVED] Bios wont detect 2 SATA hard drives

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Bios wont detect 2 SATA hard drives within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just bought a 500gb samsung SATA hard drive, and I installed it into my computer along side my older


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2009, 09:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
OS: XP professional



I just bought a 500gb samsung SATA hard drive, and I installed it into my computer along side my older 128gb SATA samsung hard drive. But when I go to my bios, the new driver doesn't show up and I tried detecting it with all of my channels, then I unplugged my older hard drive to see if the new one works then. And it did, bios detected my new hard drive without any problems, but I want to have them both detected at the same time, what should I do?

__________________
Rain908 is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 09:43 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Madcatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 1,929
OS: XP/7/Server 2008

My System


what motherboard do you have? and how many sata ports? If it has more than 2 sata ports, try plugging the 2nd hard drive into ports 3 or 4.

__________________

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager Administrator
MemTest86+
PC Running Slow?
Virus/Malware Help
Madcatz is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 10:50 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
OS: XP professional



I got 4 ports, 2,3,4 and 5
__________________
Rain908 is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 10:53 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Madcatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 1,929
OS: XP/7/Server 2008

My System


ok, try putting the 2nd hard drive into port 3,4, or 5.

if that doesn't work, then please post the brand and model of the motherboard.
__________________

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager Administrator
MemTest86+
PC Running Slow?
Virus/Malware Help
Madcatz is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 03:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
OS: XP professional



Hey, thanks, it worked!
You can close the thread now

__________________
Rain908 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts