Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

SMART Test: SMART Short Self Test Failed

This is a discussion on SMART Test: SMART Short Self Test Failed within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been getting a blue screen for sometime and it has started happening alot more the past week. The


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2011, 07:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



I have been getting a blue screen for sometime and it has started happening alot more the past week.

The blue screen has alot of information which includes:
"A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer"
"A process or thread crucial to system operation has unexpectedly exited or been terminated" and this is just the beginning.....

At the bottom of the screen is says:
"Technical Information:
***STOP: 0x000000F4 (0x0000000000000003. 0xFFFFFA8009C6AB30, 0XFFFFFA8009C6AE10, 0XFFFFF80002DDB2D0)

Collecting data for crash dump....
Initializing disk for crash dump.....

I did a Hard Drive Test tonight and the SMART Short Self Test Failed. I do not know what is wrong with my computer or how to fix it. What does all this mean? What do I need to do?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

__________________
tazinkc is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 05:35 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



SMART is a drive-health monitoring technology built in to the hard drive. If SMART reports a test failure it almost always means bad news -- the hard drive is faulty and could completely fail at any time. All hard drives do fail sooner or later.

You should immediately copy all your documents, music files & video files etc. from that drive to another location (external drive, CD/DVD discs etc.) before the drive fails completely. That's why I'm always reminding people to always keep backups of their files even when they are not having any problems because you never know when disaster will strike where computers are concerned.

You will need to have a new hard drive fitted in place of the one that's failing.
Then use your manufacturer's Recovery media (or Windows 7 installation DVD, whichever is the case) to put Windows on it. You will then have a fresh copy of Windows installed just as when you bought it.

You will have to re-install any third-party software that wasn't installed originally.

__________________
pip22 is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 05:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



O.S.? Version?
Any other particulars.


There are a myriad of possibilities - drivers, av/antispyware/security products, software updates and of course, hardware problems
can cause that error. As mentioned, it would be wise to back up all of your vital data right away, if you haven't done so already.

Then start troubleshooting.

Have you updated any drivers lately? Check and see if Windows Updates has done any updates recently. Have you added hardware, changed security products, or added new software?

Any major devices not functioning properly?

have you run Check Disk? If not, it is a good idea, and may help.

Use "BlueScreenView" to capture BSOD info, and post it here.

"BlueScreenView" is an excellent tool for posting Blue Screen Error Information

For the BSOD - "BlueScreenView" will scan all your minidump files created during BSOD crashes, and display the
information about all crashes.

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

++++++++++
Mircorosft.com - "How to fix BlueScreen (STOP) errors that cause Windows Vista to shut down or restart unexpectedly"

How to fix BlueScreen (STOP) errors that cause Windows Vista to shut down or restart unexpectedly

++++
A great site for troubleshooting BSOD under Vista - Troubleshooting Vista Blue Screen and Stop Errors



Best of Luck.
__________________
Andy Cap is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 05:40 PM   #4
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 16,878
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

since you are getting confusing info, I would suggest downloading and running the harddrive diagnostic utility from the harddrives manufacturers website. It is a deeper test than the smart test.

Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DcDiag /v Result. BDC Server health
Dear Support, Please advise whether my second domain controller is healthy, thank you. Please see below dcdiag /v report that i run from the server. Domain Controller Diagnosis Performing initial setup: * Verifying that the local machine SERVER2, is a DC. * Connecting to directory...
boonhongchua Windows Servers 2 02-25-2011 12:32 AM
Plug and Play Causes Services to run 100%
About i week ago I booted my computer and noticed that it was running extremly slow. I opened task manager and found that services.exe was running up my CPU. After going through msconfig and using trial and error, i found that it wouldn't drive it up if i had Plug and Play unchecked. So my...
logicalman Resolved HJT Threads 46 02-09-2011 04:51 AM
Need some help. Virus/malware Thanks!
:upset: Tons of popup windows saying this file is infected and that file is infected, do I want to open up my security software (and this isn't my CA security suite doing this). Even if I'm using Firefox random windows in IE will open with (******.com/porno.com/adult.com). Hardly any...
R_Willis Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 01-20-2011 09:50 AM
win7, vista refuse to boot
All was fine. So i shut the system down so i could replace the cpu heatsink. Go to start back up, and windows (7) is BSODing on me. Like a bad technician, i have restart enabled *sigh* so I go to boot menu, and select my vista drive. And it just sits at a black screen. So i'm logged in on...
magnethead Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 20 01-11-2011 12:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts