Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

SimpleTech Portable Hard Drive Won't Work

This is a discussion on SimpleTech Portable Hard Drive Won't Work within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I just opened a brand new SimpleTech Portable Hard Drive (250GB, designed by Pininfarina), and I can't get it


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2008, 11:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP SP3



Hi, I just opened a brand new SimpleTech Portable Hard Drive (250GB, designed by Pininfarina), and I can't get it to work on my laptop.

The problem is, the hard drive isn't being handled correctly by the computer. When I plug in the USB cable to the USB port, the red LED light on the Hard Drive turns on (which indicates that it is receiving adequate power), but the drive doesn't show up under My Computer.

Additionally, "Found New Hardware" notifications pop up about every 1 or 2 seconds. And if the sound effects are anything to trust, the system thinks I am rapidly plugging and unplugging the USB device, which I am not.

I've tried plugging in both USB ports (the normal one, plus the additional one for extra power), with no success.

My laptop has 5 USB ports, and I have tried all of them, also with no success.

I have also tried disabling SLI graphics (to presumably free up some power), but that also didn't work.

The Portable Hard Drive is the only USB device I currently have plugged in, so I am hesitant to think that insufficient power is the root issue.

My laptop is in excellent condition; it runs extremely fast and everything works except for this Portable Hard Drive. I reformatted it less than a month ago, and I only have mainstream programs installed such as Microsoft Office, Adobe InDesign, Photoshop, AVG AntiVirus, Lavasoft AdAware, CCleaner, iTunes, and a few others.

Thanks in advance.

__________________
TbbZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 01:27 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP SP3



Anyone have any ideas? If I didn't provide enough information, I'll be glad to supply more.

__________________
TbbZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 02:46 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP SP3



Still looking for ideas, if anyone has any. I can post my system specs if they would help?
__________________
TbbZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 04:58 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp



I got the same problem. Got the Simpletech 320 in the mail on 4-11-09. Unpacked it and plugged it in.. Only the red power light comes on.. The computer doesn't even recognize the drive. I've tried rebooting and also plugged it in 2 other computers. Guess I bought a piece of you know what. Going to send it back to Amazon.com Monday morning.
__________________
fedvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 05:48 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



The repeated found new harware warnings indicate this is probably a power issue, I've seen it several times on different USB enclosures that are bus powered. USB only provides about 500 mA of current to all ports, so if you have other devices connected.. mopuse or KB for example or even if nothing is there, 500 mA is marginal at best to run a drive. So are these drives bus powered or do they have their own AC power connection. If bus powered do they have a second USB connector that is power only?
About the only ways to fix this are to use only the drive, if there is enough current to spin it up - or to try a USB hub with it's own power supply so that it doesn't load the on board port's power.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:57 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
OS: os2


Grin

These drives seem to be junk drives. Mine has the same issue. Fortunately the drive inside is fine and works perfectly in a 10$ drive encasement that I purchased at a local computer store.

If your warranty is expired, I'd buy the new case and carry on.

Cheers!

__________________
mikuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts