Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Seagate Momentus 5400.6 ST9250315AS PCB swap?

This is a discussion on Seagate Momentus 5400.6 ST9250315AS PCB swap? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi My friend spilled a glass of water all over his laptop. He then powered up the laptop after mopping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2012, 04:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP


EEK!

Hi

My friend spilled a glass of water all over his laptop. He then powered up the laptop after mopping it with a towel, only to discover a strange noise coming from HDD.

I got the laptop this morning, took out the HDD and placed in a dock. The dock did not pick it up at all.

I then plugged straight into motherboard and again, nothing, BIOS has no idea a HDD is plugged in. There are no signs of life, not a click, whir or whine.

You may be able to see from the attached picture, that there are some burn marks on the PCB.

I want to attempt a PCB swapout, but wonder, specifically for this HDD - how close the firmware, model number, date code etc have to match?

Details of dead drive:-

Seagate Momentus 5400.6 ST9250315AS 250GB

PN: 9HH132-150
FW: 0002SDM1

Basically, although fairly au fait with computers, I don't fancy having to swap the ROM chip.

Most grateful for any specific advice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HDD.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	194.3 KB
ID:	107462  

__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 08:04 PM   #2
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


Before doing all this , have you tried a new hdd on that same laptop first?

Else everything else would just bea waste of effort.

__________________

tyza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 09:10 PM   #3
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



If you swap the hard drive board out you have to swap the ROM info to the NEW board. Not ALL hard drives have an external ROM chip. Remove the board and check for any markings near the power connector such as F1 these have micro sized fuses it may have BLOWN again good soldering skills needed to replace.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:26 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by tyza View Post
Before doing all this , have you tried a new hdd on that same laptop first?

Else everything else would just bea waste of effort.
Hi and thanks for the quick response. Yes another HDD works fine in the laptop.
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:30 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Networks View Post
If you swap the hard drive board out you have to swap the ROM info to the NEW board. Not ALL hard drives have an external ROM chip. Remove the board and check for any markings near the power connector such as F1 these have micro sized fuses it may have BLOWN again good soldering skills needed to replace.
Hi. Is the ROM specific to the model / firmware or is it literally bespoke to the Hard Drive which is now dead?

The idea I had was to find an exact PCB match and simply swap it. I appreciate I may be showing my ignorance here!!

All I wanna do is pull the files off the dead HDD and then place onto a replacement HDD
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 04:58 AM   #6
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux


Yes the Rom info is specific to each hard drive so just a board swap won't work the drive may spin up but access to the data will be unlikely until the rom info gets moved
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:10 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Networks View Post
Yes the Rom info is specific to each hard drive so just a board swap won't work the drive may spin up but access to the data will be unlikely until the rom info gets moved
Sorry to keep putting a fine point on it, is there not a way to flash the ROM?

You see in my mind, a ROM is read only memory, so are you saying that each ROM is factory programmed for the individual drive to which it is attached?

Surely there's a chance that a short circuit could have damaged the ROM from the original drive?

I know many posters in Forums can be lazy, I am certainly not but am struggling to find a written guide detailing what I need to do?

Are you aware of any?

I know there are Youtube videos, I guess, but I understand written instruction far better.

Thanks again
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:04 PM   #8
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Yes the rom is specific to each drive and burned at the time the drive is manufactured. Pro data recovery tools exist that allow a DR expert to download the ROM and flash from one board to a new board. You won't find a written step by step guide on this on the open web since its how the DR Pro's make their living. Again it may just be a simple blown fuse on the existing board a very inexpensive repair. Some board providers offer the ROM swap service for an additional fee as well.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 03:38 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Networks View Post
Yes the rom is specific to each drive and burned at the time the drive is manufactured. Pro data recovery tools exist that allow a DR expert to download the ROM and flash from one board to a new board. You won't find a written step by step guide on this on the open web since its how the DR Pro's make their living. Again it may just be a simple blown fuse on the existing board a very inexpensive repair. Some board providers offer the ROM swap service for an additional fee as well.
Thanks for the advice.

As an eternal optimist, I have attached a photo of the rear of the PCB in question.

I have highlighted the area which seems to be damaged.

Any pointers as to where this fuse may be, also, which is the ROM chip?

Assuming it's not the fuse (which I'm not discounting following your advice) - is my next step to get hold of an identical donor pcb?

Thanks again

Better quality pic here http://dl.dropbox.com/u/50603386/201...2023.26.39.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-04-02 23.26.39.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	197.7 KB
ID:	107506  
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 03:41 PM   #10
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



The pic doesn't allow me to zoom in it gets very blurry so I can't make out any "detail" on the board. The area circled is the "head" contacts which can be cleaned with an eraser from a pencil. Its normal to see some discoloration on them. If you can get a better pic near the end of the board where the power connects and the small chip near the circled area it would help
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 04:24 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Sorry about the picture quality, it's from an 8 megapixel phone camera which is not good on close up work.

If it's any help, I THINK the number on the eight legged chip is

25U4088
03
0CAOW

Again, slightly better pic links at

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/50603386/201...2023.55.54.jpg

and

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/50603386/201...2023.57.03.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-04-02 23.55.54.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	279.3 KB
ID:	107508   Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-04-02 23.57.03.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	491.6 KB
ID:	107509  
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 04:35 PM   #12
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



If you have a multimeter check the black item near the power connector I can't tell if its a fuse or a diode try the diode scale. The one pic of the power connector is much better the one of the 8 pin chip is washed out by the flash I can't find the number in the IC lookup databases. This one have the rom intergrated into the CPU
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 04:46 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Right, it's well past my bed time here in UK - will get on this tomorrow, thanks again - your ongoing help is genuinely appreciated
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:34 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



This is a better picture - amazing what daylight does

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/50603386/201...2012.04.08.jpg

Looks like the number is

25U406B
03
0CA0W (not sure if zeros or O's)
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 06:01 AM   #15
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Chip seems to be only in China can't get a data sheet on it my guess its not the rom chip its proximity to the head contacts makes me think its for that circuitry. Any check the small black component with a meter I don't see any markings on it.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 01:53 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Networks View Post
Chip seems to be only in China can't get a data sheet on it my guess its not the rom chip its proximity to the head contacts makes me think its for that circuitry. Any check the small black component with a meter I don't see any markings on it.
Sorry to be a pain but which component are you referring to (small black component) - any chance you could highlight it? I'm no electronics wiz so go easy
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:33 PM   #17
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Ok See attached image for RED circle around component to test with meter.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 04:10 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



OK, thanks, will test tomorrow and let you know of my findings.
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 03:38 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Using the continuity checker on my multimeter, I get a reading of 750 if the red probe is on the end nearest the other 2 components and a reading of 1 if the black probe is on the end nearest the other 2 components.

Does that mean anything of significance?
__________________
CJS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 05:09 AM   #20
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux


Sounds like normal diode reading

__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] PCB Replacement for Western Digital Hard Drive
I have a WD2500JB-00REA0 HDD that recently stopped working. The head has stopped spinning but there is quite a bit of data on it that I would like to recover. I ended up purchasing another WD2500JB-00REA0 HDD on eBay - I swapped the PCB's and I can see that the head is now spinning, but it's not...
the_jaguar Hard Drive Support 9 07-13-2012 12:46 PM
Corrupt Seagate Hard Drive
So recently (about 2 months ago) I purchased a 1TB Seagate hard drive, because my the built in hard drive on my computer was taken up by games that I have purchased and installed. I bought the hard drive for the one purpose to install games to it, and have been installing software to it as well. ...
TehAwesomePwner Hard Drive Support 6 04-01-2012 11:08 PM
Dead GPU swap and ensuing headaches
***Skip the first paragraph if you don't want back-story.*** Yesterday my beloved Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 began artifact-ing and causing multiple BSODs. I checked the core temp, it was a balmy 52 ' C which is normal, but I cleaned the case and cards of dust to be safe. Tried it again and it BSOD...
Sweeet Video Card Support 4 03-28-2012 01:58 PM
Windows Server 2008 BSOD after mainboard swap
Ok. Here is what I am dealing with, going to see if anyone has any thoughts. Mainboard on the server failed, ( Damn on Board Raid plus there is a leaking cap). Swapped Mainboard for an exact replacement ( Same Model and Same Rev). Bench Test outside the case, unit gets the same...
wlthomas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 03-27-2012 10:43 AM
Seagate External HD Not Being Read
I have a Seagate Freeagent GoFlex 500gb external HD that as of recently has stopped being read by my computer or the other ones I have attempted to plug it in to. The top of it looks like this: http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2010/09/seagate-goflex-usb3-handson.jpg This problem...
outkast82889 Hard Drive Support 3 03-27-2012 12:21 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts