Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

problem formatting hard drive

This is a discussion on problem formatting hard drive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have two hard drives in my PC and I want to format them both. I've done one and windows


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2008, 10:50 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
OS: XP SP2


Question

I have two hard drives in my PC and I want to format them both. I've done one and windows has installed on that drive, but when I want to format the other, windows installs on that drive as well and appears to be causing me problems. How do I format the second drive without installing windows.

__________________
Helen Oliver is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 11:14 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
kodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 7,827
OS: Windows 7-Ultimate 64 Bit

My System


Go to Start/my computer and right click on the drive you want to format and click format

__________________
Brian
kodi is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 12:08 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
OS: XP SP2



I tried doing that Kodi, but it wouldn't do the format. currently I have the drive disconnected otherwise the computer won't run at all
__________________
Helen Oliver is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 04:22 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
OS: xp sp3



If can get your computer to run on the hard drive that you want your OS installed on with the second hard drive installed in your computer. Go to "Start", right click on "My Computer", "Manage", "Storage", "Disc Management (Local)", right click on the hard drive you want formatted and "Format". Follow the instructions... you'll probably want a basic disc NTFS.

If you can't get your computer to start with both hard drives installed, get an external hard drive enclosure from pretty much any computer place. Make sure that it's a 3.5". Put your drive in there and plug the enclosure in via USB after computer start up. Follow the instructions from above. After formating your hard drive, replace inside your computer and make sure it's enabled in the BIOS settings.

When buying your external hard drive enclosure make sure that it supports your hard drive type (IDE or SATA or both)or you won't have the right connector cables, and that it supports your hard drive size, or you won't be able to format the entire drive. You can find good hard drive enclosures for about $20, and even cheaper when on sale. Here's one to look at.

Let me know how it goes.
__________________
njw3356 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 05:11 AM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



well you cannot format it if it is not connected
clear the disk with killdisk
http://www.killdisk.com/downloadfree.htm
make sure you clear the right drive
then go into disk management and format it
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 11:16 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
OS: XP SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by njw3356 View Post
If can get your computer to run on the hard drive that you want your OS installed on with the second hard drive installed in your computer. Go to "Start", right click on "My Computer", "Manage", "Storage", "Disc Management (Local)", right click on the hard drive you want formatted and "Format". Follow the instructions... you'll probably want a basic disc NTFS.

If you can't get your computer to start with both hard drives installed, get an external hard drive enclosure from pretty much any computer place. Make sure that it's a 3.5". Put your drive in there and plug the enclosure in via USB after computer start up. Follow the instructions from above. After formating your hard drive, replace inside your computer and make sure it's enabled in the BIOS settings.

When buying your external hard drive enclosure make sure that it supports your hard drive type (IDE or SATA or both)or you won't have the right connector cables, and that it supports your hard drive size, or you won't be able to format the entire drive. You can find good hard drive enclosures for about $20, and even cheaper when on sale. Here's one to look at.

Let me know how it goes.
I will try that, but it will have to be tomorrow, so will let you know how it goes.
__________________
Helen Oliver is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 11:18 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
OS: XP SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
well you cannot format it if it is not connected
clear the disk with killdisk
http://www.killdisk.com/downloadfree.htm
make sure you clear the right drive
then go into disk management and format it
well I know I cannot format it if it not connected. what is killdisk, is it a software program?
__________________
Helen Oliver is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 12:50 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



it's software that completely wipes the drive,if setup started on the other drive everytime you boot it will try to continue
by clearing it with killdisk you can then go into disk management and format it without setup kicking in
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 02:06 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
OS: XP SP2



Thanks everyone for all the help. I've now formatted the second drive and all seem to be working OK except the DVD drive is not recognising discs at all. But I'm taking the computer to an expert tomorrow so hopefully all probs will be solved.

Thanks again.
__________________
Helen Oliver is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 02:09 AM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



remove the upper and lower filters
scroll down to how here
http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=k...060&x=12&y=13#

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts