Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support


No IDE Device found

This is a discussion on No IDE Device found within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Looks like the problem isn't new, but I haven't found a thread that has the exact problem. I have a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-16-2010, 05:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



Looks like the problem isn't new, but I haven't found a thread that has the exact problem.

I have a major problem that I couldn't isolate and find the source. Two months ago, I had a HP laptop shut down without a warning. It first froze, then showed 'snow' on the screen. It would remain until I manually shut down. It won't start up and so I'd taken it in after finding out it needed a new hard drive.

After two weeks of waiting, my laptop worked beautifully like a baby netbook. Then, it showed the same pattern of shutting down as before: freezing, then the snow screen. I had to manually shut down, waiting, then started it up. It was odd because if i started right away, the black screen would say 'No IDE Device found' (which was the same problem from a dead hard drive). But if I wait long enough, for maybe ten minutes, the computer will work fine.

After three days of shutting down and turning on manually, I ended up bringing it back. For no charge, the repairers rechecked and said there was nothing wrong.

At first, I could deal with the shut down because that would occur once a day, but right now, it occured ten to fifteen times a day. If I restart too fast, the 'No IDE device found' will be shown. If I wait, the computer works again. To be honest, I'm utterly FRUSTRATED. A friend mentions that it could be a burnt cable wire or something, but I'd be pissed if I have to go back and find no problems again.

I tried to isolate it to anything. Browers, memory capability, video players, games I installed, But I could not find the source.

What could the problem be??? Thanks if you have answers!

Here is my laptop's information:
HP-Packett Laptop Pavillion
Windows Vista Home Premium: Service Pack 2
Processor: AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60
2 GB RAM

Let me know if I need to add more.
Abee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2010, 06:03 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 53,629
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

I would reseat the drive . . pull it out then back in . . then run diagnostics on the drive

Conner Hard Drives: Use Seagate Utilities

Fujitsu Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

Hitachi Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

IBM Hard Drives: Use Hitachi Utilities*

Maxtor Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

Quantum Hard Drives: Use Maxtor Utilities

Samsung Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

Seagate Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here

Toshiba Hard Drives: Use Hitachi or Maxtor Utilities

Western Digital Hard Drives: Diagnostic Utilities Here


See this for how to make a bootable cd
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 06:04 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Posts: 1,153
OS: All Microsoft Operating Systems

My System


Hi and welcome to TSF!

It sure sounds like a bad hard disk drive or a drive that is failing. It's not uncommon for the drive to WORK once it has cooled back down. I.e. you run it for a while and it gets hot, then it starts "acting up", eventually causing the system to freeze or not react correctly.

When hard disk drives start going bad many of them will create massive heat mainly due to massive reads and re-reads due to whatever is failing.

I would test the hard disk drive to see if you have a failing drive.

What is the EXACT model number of your HP? Please get the actual drive model off of the system tag on the system - bottom of the system.

Also, please access the device manager and under the Hard Drive area, please get the model number of the drive and post it for us. That way we will be able to point you to the HDD manufacturer's diagnostics tools.

Thanks!
IT-Tech is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 12:15 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



HP Pavillon dv9700
s/n: CNF8025IN6
P/N: KC33IUA#ABA
Hard Drive: WDC WD3200BEVT-11ZCT0 ATA Device

Hope I got this right!
Abee is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 12:17 PM   #5
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 53,629
OS: XP, Win 7



You can use the Western Digital diagnostics
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 12:17 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



I'm not very confident in myself to reset the drive. I'd need exact steps to do so without any mistake... Appreciate it greatly if you can help me!
Abee is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 12:19 PM   #7
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 53,629
OS: XP, Win 7



You do not reset anything . . just make a bootable cd from the Western Digital download, boot from that cd and run the diagnostic . . post back with the results
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:05 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



Here is what I got:

"Unable to locate the License Agreement file DLGLICE.TXT!!!
Please make sure the license agreement file is located in the same path as DLGDIAG.EXE

Cannot load the file A:\command.com
Insert the correct disk and strike any key"

After restarting, I had to disk-check, then it froze. I couldn't tell if it's frozen because all I see was a black screen, even after waiting for minutes.

Again, restarted and got the message that I needed to use the Windows Installation disk and "repair the computer". The problem is I don't have the disk because Vista was installed by Best Buy/GeekSquad.
Abee is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:13 PM   #9
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 53,629
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you burn the iso to a cd or just copy it ?
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:15 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



I did burn it.
Abee is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:16 PM   #11
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 53,629
OS: XP, Win 7



I'd download it again and burn the image again . . something did not go right. You booted from the cd?
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:18 PM   #12
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 53,629
OS: XP, Win 7



Be sure to use the iso burner to make the cd

http://cdburnerxp.se/help/Data/burn-iso
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:34 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



I did exactly what the bootable CD post said.

Now I got something different. Mind, the first time I booted the CD, I waited as usual before I restarted. This time, I booted immediately.

Here is what I got:
DLGDIAG 5.0f4 Data Lifeguard Diagnostics
'No Drive Found
Error/Status Code: 0120'
Abee is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:48 PM   #14
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 53,629
OS: XP, Win 7



not good . . let me ask an expert on drives to help out!
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 05:09 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,227
OS: XP



That is sounding like perhaps a heat issue causing the drive to fail. Download MHDD from www.hddguru.com and poast the results of the smart test. Then do a scan of the drive.
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 06:56 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



Sorry, but I couldn't download MHDD. I got to the link and I repeatedly clicked on it, but nothing happened. The cookies are allowed on this website and no pop-blockers are enabled.

I just couldn't download it...
Abee is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 07:02 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



Ok, I got the file and am downloading. I will post the results asap after the booting.
Abee is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 07:38 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



Doesn't look good.

Had to use step-by-step diagnostics so I could write down the details.

AIC-78XX/AIC-75XX (ASPI8DOS.SYS), AIC-7890/91 (ASPI8U2.SYS) are shown and failed to install.

Slave devices not supported.

NVIDIA-Unknown: 10DE 0550 30F1 30E5
10DE 0550 30E9 30E1

When I started the Smart test, 'Error: Drive not ready'.
Abee is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:09 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,227
OS: XP



It's sounding like physical failure - The ASPI drivers are for adaptec SCSI cards, so they probably shouldn't have loaded - do you have the drive connected directly to a desktop or via USB?
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 02-18-2010, 03:53 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Vista Service Pack 2



The hard drive is internal.
Abee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com