Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

"No bootable device"

This is a discussion on "No bootable device" within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello there! I have a problem. Long story short, my mom took my older sister's laptop and broke it. My


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2012, 12:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
OS: vista



Hello there! I have a problem.

Long story short, my mom took my older sister's laptop and broke it. My mom decided to take the hard drive out of my sister's laptop (For no reason, just did). Now I'm getting a "No bootable device" black screen. This is way beyond my knowledge of computers, so I'm hoping someone here can help me.

I've seen a few post about things such as using sata cables and such. Either that or having to use expensive recovery services. Id appreciate any advice and thanks in advance.

Just for reference that is what the screen says:

Intel UNDI, PEX-2.0 (Build 083)

For Atheros PCIE Ethernet Controller v2.0.2.7(11/02/10)

Check cable connection !
PXE-MOF: Exiting intel PXE ROM.
No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key

Not sure how much it will help, but I figured I'd post it anyway.

__________________
Db_92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:13 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check the hard drive is set to first boot and not to boot from a network

if it is already set there then you have likely lost the hard drive

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
OS: vista



How do I check to see if it is set to first boot?
__________________
Db_92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:47 PM   #4
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 23,999
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Tap F8 repeatedly when the computer is starting and select the HDD. If it boots post back.

Also what is the make and model number of your computer?
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 04:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
OS: vista



Taping F8 doesn't do anything. I can press F2 for the setup utility and F12 for boot manger. I have to press them in the one second it lets me, otherwise it gos straight to the black screen.

The computer is a Toshiba. I'm assuming the model number is on of the stickers on the bottom. I see the part number, serial number, and product key.
__________________
Db_92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:28 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



tap f2

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple "Failed to save...System32..." Popups Virus on Windows Vista Laptop
I found a thread started by another user entitled: Failed to save System32 Popups Virus CANNOT access anything EVERYTHING is HIDDEN which is extremely similar to my situation with my laptop, but the thread didn't seem to have been resolved. I am using Windows Vista on my laptop. I was just...
pllmjak Resolved HJT Threads 35 04-22-2012 08:12 PM
"Out of memory" pop-ups on startup?
Hello, I've been having this nasty problem since yesterday. I have no knowledge of viruses whatsoever so I am at a complete loss as to what to do. I'm using a 7-year-old laptop and Windows XP. At a guess, the problem comes from my friend's USB. This is what happened: I inserted the USB and...
CMPPrimate Inactive Malware Help Topics 12 04-19-2012 10:55 AM
"no audio device" "no playback device" "No Sound Card was found"
ok.. I'm stuck.. puzzled... I recently had a professional computer fix it company wipe my computer and now I do not have any sound. I do not have even the little icon on the bottom left hand corner to turn volume up or down. My keyboard does not allow me to turn the volume up or down, it ...
STLj Sound Cards 9 03-30-2012 04:56 PM
[SOLVED] no sound when DVD is playing in Drive F
Thanks in advance for any help I can get. When I put a dvd into my drive F the movie will play but there is no sound. I turned the sound up on the speakers and I have tried moving the sound bar but still no sound. I am using IE 7 but have a vista home basic 32 bit. I looked into the realtek HD...
Catb Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 03-28-2012 06:20 AM
HP Mini: No sound, can't skype
I am not too sure what the problem is but my built-in speakers are not working-I can hear the other party when I skype but they can't hear me? Please help, its frustrating.:nono:
mmabonolo Laptop Support 2 03-27-2012 07:10 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts