Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

My C drive is now my D drive :( How to switch system/active drive

This is a discussion on My C drive is now my D drive :( How to switch system/active drive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My HP m7490n media center comes with two hard drives, but I could only access one of them. So I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2006, 08:14 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: xp



My HP m7490n media center comes with two hard drives, but I could only access one of them. So I was on the phone with their tech support and they eventually figured out how to get me to get both hard drives. When I turned on the computer however, all my work in the past two months was gone!

I found that all the programs downloaded, tv recorded, documents worked on etc, were on the "D" drive which used to be the C drive. I can access the documents in there but of course I can't use the programs I downloaded, or get media center to recognize the tv shows I recorded etc.

How do I switch my C drive with the D dive? In other words how do I switch my "system" drive with my "active" drive, and what do these labels mean?

Btw. I asked HP tech support for this, and they said they would transfer me to a special team for the problem, for a charge. In other words they want to charge me for a problem that THEY created.

Win one for the small guy.

__________________
guyanonym is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 08:23 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System

You cannot change the drive letter of your system partition.

__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 08:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: xp


Is there anyway to fix this problem? My former system drive is no longer my system drive!
__________________
guyanonym is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:00 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System

The only way I know of is to re-install the OS.
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:12 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: xp


Can't I just copy my D drive onto my C drive, or switch the wires or something?
__________________
guyanonym is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:14 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,921
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System

HI,
If these are two separate physical hard drives (not partitions) both with operating systems on them, go into the bios and change the boot order to
boot from your original drive.

Paul
__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:22 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: xp


How do I change the boot order exactly?
__________________
guyanonym is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:59 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: xp


Nevermind. I figured that out easily by going to the BIOS menu. I switched the boot order and indeed my old desktop booted up...but in a heavily distorted version that only showed part of the screen. Also, I couldn't use any applications. Even the shutdown button and ctrl-alt-delete menu didn't work, nor could I enter the properties menu.

Any ideas on how I can get my old computer back?
__________________
guyanonym is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:19 AM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System

You may try and use the restore feature of windows this will alow you to restore the OS to an earlier time or date, before you had problems.
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:29 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: xp


Well that gets the "old" computer back. But I really mean getting everything to the way it was just before the 2nd hard drive was installed and became the primary hard drive.

I already tried switching the boot order, and that did something. I could try unplugging the 2nd hard drive, but I'm hesistant to experiment.
__________________
guyanonym is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:58 AM   #11
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System

The only thing you can do is try. Back up your important data, wipe down the machine, and reload your OS and programs on the C partition. Use the D partition strickly for Data.
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:50 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
OS: XP Home, XP Pro, Server 03, Vista, Linux

My System

Since when can't you change the drive letter?
__________________
BIOS is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 01:59 PM   #13
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIOS
Since when can't you change the drive letter?
You cannot change the drive letter of the system partition.

This is a quote from the Microsoft website:

"You cannot change the drive letter of the system volume or boot volume "


http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d....mspx?mfr=true
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 04:29 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
kodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 7,826
OS: Windows 7-Ultimate 64 Bit

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by guyanonym
Nevermind. I figured that out easily by going to the BIOS menu. I switched the boot order and indeed my old desktop booted up...but in a heavily distorted version that only showed part of the screen. Also, I couldn't use any applications. Even the shutdown button and ctrl-alt-delete menu didn't work, nor could I enter the properties menu.

Any ideas on how I can get my old computer back?
You could try changing the boot order to CD then this drive and do a repair of the OS.
Not sure if this will work so wait till someone confirms if it will,if no replies in a reasonable time I will try a few PM's to get help
__________________
Brian
kodi is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 04:45 PM   #15
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,189
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System

Hmmm how about remove the non-system drive and only use the OS drive (currently D drive) as the master and see if that changes it back to C when it boots??

If it does, add the other drive as slave and it should go to D automatically???
__________________
nickster_uk is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 04:48 PM   #16
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,189
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System

Also, are you able to remember any of the steps you took with the HP tech guy?

__________________
nickster_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts