Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Missing space on new 750 gb hard drive?

This is a discussion on Missing space on new 750 gb hard drive? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just cloned my 500 gb hard drive to an internal 750 gb drive but the full capacity of the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2011, 06:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



I just cloned my 500 gb hard drive to an internal 750 gb drive but the full capacity of the drive is listed as 679 total. I know that the total amount on these drives is always listed higher than it actually is but is that an excessive amount of missing space on a new drive or is that about right?

__________________
DaGrandMastah is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:16 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



The full capacity is there. A gigabyte is 1,000,000,000 bytes. Since Computers calculate on base 2, the closest number it can use int he interest of speed calculations is 1,073,741,824 bytes. Your drive has 750,000,000,000 bytes available ( 750 GB ) but the computer calculates that as 698 bytes ( 750000000000 / 1073741824 ) The 679 is a little low ( about 20 GB ) What does it show for total capacity in disk management

__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:20 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,742
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


I would bet Disk Management shows 20 Gb or so unallocated as I have seen his before with drive cloning applications when you go from a smaller to larger drive.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:40 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



Disk Management is showing 679.77 under the c: with 4.89 gb under "healthy (recovery partition) and 13.97 under "healthy (primary partition)"

I'm assuming that's the missing space. is there any way to get that space back?
__________________
DaGrandMastah is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:42 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



The 4.89 is the recovery partition from the original drive. Is there a drive letter associated with the 13 GB partition?
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 10:30 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



No it just has it showing under healthy primary partition under disc 0.
__________________
DaGrandMastah is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 10:43 AM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,742
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


You should be able to assign it a letter in Disk Management.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 11:19 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



how do i reassign it? do i just delete that partition?
__________________
DaGrandMastah is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 12:22 PM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,742
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


If it's "unallocated", then right click it and choose "simple volume" and create partition and assign a drive letter. I can't help but wonder if it says "healthy partition" and you can't right click and add a drive letter, it may be the mbr in which case if you delete it and remake the partition, you may not be able to bootup.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 02:03 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



It doesn't allow me to do that. It only allows me to "delete volume". All other fields are greyed out and can't be clicked.

It's not a big deal since I have plenty of space on my computer and the 12 gb that it's taking up isn't a big deal.

I don't want to risk it causing any problems to my cpu if I delete it based on what you said.

I appreciate all the help you've provided though. At the very least I identified that the space is actually being put to use.

So you think it's just for the bootup?
__________________
DaGrandMastah is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 02:19 PM   #11
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,742
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Yes it must be for the mbr (master boot record) and I have no clue why it would be so big.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 04:32 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



Eh. No big deal. I have over 300 gb free so it's not going to affect me.

Thank you again for all your help. At least we narrowed it down to what it likely is.
__________________
DaGrandMastah is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 05:33 PM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,742
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Yeah you could recreate the mbr but as you say you don't really need the space anyway.

__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] BSOD problems.
· Vista · x64 · What was original installed OS on system? None. Custom built. · OEM: Full Retail Version · Age of system (hardware): 3 years · Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? 3 years. Yes. · CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale · Video Card: EVGA GEforce 8800 GT...
ajcc323 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 25 02-24-2011 04:31 AM
error from upgradation to oel 6 from oel5_6
--> Missing Dependency: libiso9660.so.5()(64bit) is needed by package xine-lib-1.1.19-2.el5.rf.x86_64 (installed) java-1.4.2-gcj-compat-devel-1.4.2.0-40jpp.115.i386 from installed has depsolving problems --> Missing Dependency: python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by package...
csayantan Linux Support 1 02-20-2011 09:04 PM
External hard drive not being recognised
Hi, My external hard drive last night started playing up. I was watching a movie and at points it would freeze and I would have to close my media player and reopen and skip about a minute of the movie as it would always freeze at the same points. I tested with another video I know worked a few...
shonfield Hard Drive Support 16 02-16-2011 10:57 PM
Missing hard drive space
My dad was having an issue with his computer - it wasn't booting. He was using Windows XP, one 40 gig ATA hard drive. Rather than mess around with it, I unplugged the drive and plugged it into my (Windows 7) machine to try and figure out what was what, with the plan of just saving his files onto...
Ubik2000 Hard Drive Support 2 01-18-2011 05:51 PM
Dell Latitude D620 - read failure on internal hard drive
I am a computer tech and I have a client that has a Dell Latitude D620 running XP Professional. Problem is that when you turn it on it gets to a black screen that says "read failure on internal hard drive". Obviously from the message it seems like a bad hard drive. I have ran the 1st part...
tcsllc Laptop Support 7 01-17-2011 01:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts