Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Maxtor OneTouch 4 - Format?

This is a discussion on Maxtor OneTouch 4 - Format? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a 500GB external Maxtor drive that's worked fine for about a year. Two days ago when I tried


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2010, 02:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Professional



I have a 500GB external Maxtor drive that's worked fine for about a year. Two days ago when I tried to use it, I got the message "You need to format the disk in drive M: before you can use it." When I click cancel, it says "The volume does not contain a recognized file system."

I've followed the directions here with no luck:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/1163140-post1.html

I've also talked to Maxtor tech support, which of course led nowhere. They told me to format the disk and said I would lose everything. Truly helpful!

When I look at my drives in Disk Management (right click on Computer, click manage, click Disk Management), the external drive has nothing listed under volume, has "RAW" under file system, and in status says "healthy, active, primary).

Any other ideas before I go the formatting route?

__________________
dayne517 is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 04:38 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Can you provide more detail on the results of the testdisk run?

__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 03:44 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Professional



After clicking "no log," I get two options:

Disk /dev/sda - 500 GB / 465 GiB - ST350062 OAS
Disk /dev/sdb - 500 GB / 465 GiB - Maxtor OneTouch.

When I choose the first one, I can go through all the steps and reboot, but nothing changes (it still doesn't work).

When I choose the second one, it says the harddisk (500 GB / 465 GiB) seems too small and testdisk fails.
__________________
dayne517 is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 03:48 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Riun the seagate seatools utility against the maxtor drive and see if it may be a physical problem sounds like the values reported by the drive to test_disk are wrong.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 03:59 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Professional



Is there a specific test you're looking for? I ran the Short Drive Self Test and Short Generic and both passed.
__________________
dayne517 is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 05:11 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Long test is the most thorough.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 05:47 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Professional



Passed that one too.
__________________
dayne517 is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:11 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Try partition find and mount and see if it can mount the file system www.findandmount.com
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 04:28 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Professional



I installed the program, but when I tried to run it, it comes up with an error message that says: There were errors on start (Device driver service cannot be started. Error Code: 577) program will terminate.
__________________
dayne517 is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 01:45 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Professional



bump...
__________________
dayne517 is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 03:31 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Missed the OS This from teh F and M faq
Quote:
Partition Find and Mount requires a 32-bit operating system. Unfortunately, our software does not function under 64-bit OS.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 05:41 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Professional



Ok, so what can I try instead?
__________________
dayne517 is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 06:24 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Partition table doctor is about the only other option, it however is not free,
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 09:36 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Professional



Just tried EASEUS Partition Master. It's running now and says it has 7 hours left. I'll let you know if it works.
__________________
dayne517 is offline  
Old 03-07-2011, 09:49 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64



Any luck on this?

__________________
Action Dan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts