Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Maxtor HD Failed, Return code 7

This is a discussion on Maxtor HD Failed, Return code 7 within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Help! Would appreciate any advice! My six month old Dell Dimension 4700 started running VERY slowly last night. Called tech

Closed Thread

Old 06-11-2005, 07:12 PM   #1
Registered Member

Help! Would appreciate any advice! My six month old Dell Dimension 4700 started running VERY slowly last night. Called tech support today and the guy suggested we run hard drive diagnostics before looking into spyware. After running chkdsk and the hard drive diagnostics, the drive suddenly failed and responded with Return Code 7. Dell is sending a new hard drive and a "sorry it didn't work out". Is there any way to retrieve data from this drive without that doesn't cost $1000?!!

Of course, being a former computer consultant, I did not follow my own advice and have no recent backup for this drive. UGH! Needless to say Dell will not be on my list when I buy my next computer!

Any help would be awesome!

Old 06-12-2005, 11:33 AM   #2

Send a message via MSN to jcline
Have you tried slaving this hard drive and accessing data that way?

Old 06-12-2005, 12:56 PM   #3
Registered Member

I have not tried to do this as I do not know how. I have nothing to lose though so I'm willing to give it a try. Is there someplace on this list that would tell me how to slave the drive and if I need any special software to try to recover the files? I did open up the case, reseat the cables and removed the drive to see if it seemed to be spinning at all and it did not seem to be doing anything.

Thanks for any help.
Old 06-12-2005, 01:05 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus

Take a look at this page. http://freepctech.com/pc/001/install..._devices.shtml

It should answer all your questions about hooking this drive up as a slave in another computer.
Old 06-12-2005, 01:41 PM   #5