Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Loading PBR for descriptor 2...done

This is a discussion on Loading PBR for descriptor 2...done within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Dell PC with Windows XP. It freezes on startup at the message "Loading PBR for descriptor 2...done".


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2012, 11:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 38
OS: Windows XP



I have a Dell PC with Windows XP. It freezes on startup at the message "Loading PBR for descriptor 2...done". The only options are F2 and F12. I did some research and found that some people had success booting from their recovery disk and entering the "fixboot" command (Cyberspacesupport.com - loading PBR for descriptor 2...done.? - Free computer help to find and fix computer problems.). Before I can enter "R" for repair though, I get an error saying that intelide.sys is corrupt, setup failed.

What are my options? I need everything back to the way it was. Doing a clean wipe is not an option.

Thank you!

__________________
ishan.ruwala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 06:24 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,266
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Sounds like your recovery disc is either smudged, or scratched. Give it a good cleaning and try booting off it again. If that fails, the HDD may have failed. Download the ISO image for Seatools in my signature. Burn the image to CD using IMGBurn also in my signature. Boot off of the newly created CD and run the Short and Long tests on the HDD. This may solve the problem, but if either test fails, then the HDD needs to be replaced.

spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:43 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
OS: xp



hi guys, my first ever post on here so forgive me if I'm not fully up to speed! I have the same problem with my Dell running xp. It prompts me to restart with ctr ald delete but when I try to click f8 to get to safe mode nothing happens. I try f2 to get to the bios screen but a different screen shows up (listing system time, system date etc.). I've tried removing all usb cables as was suggested on a dell site and that didn't work. There is some important recent stuff not backed up so I really need to find a way around this (not even sure if I have any system discs etc., I have this a few years.)

Thanks.
__________________
Hawkeye4real is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:32 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,266
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Please do not hijack someone else's thread. You should always start your own. But this one is abandoned so we will proceed.
Quote:
I try f2 to get to the bios screen but a different screen shows up (listing system time, system date etc.)
Pressing F2 to enter Setup will bring you to the Bios screen which will list the System Data and Time. It also lists your HDD and Memory. If your press F12 at bootup you can run the Dell Diagnostics, to test your HDD and memory.
If you have ax XP CD you can boot off of that and get to the Recovery Console and type chkdsk /R and press enter. Check Disk will check your HDD for integrity.
You can also backup your files using an Ubuntu Live CD and back them up to an external USB HDD.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Blue Screen Errors (VISTA)
I wont post the whole story because it was quite long but here is a link to another help forum I posted on. Vista Multiple Blue Screen Errors - PC Help Forum - Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (x86) - OS came pre-installed on computer - Hardware and OS is about 3-4 years old I believe -AMD...
Npons BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 05-01-2012 12:42 PM
BSOD at about 31 celsius during gaming
· OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Windows 7 · x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 64 bits · What was original installed OS on system? None - Clean harddrisk bought. · Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)?
StefanP BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 23 02-04-2012 04:05 PM
computer restarts
computer keeps restarting when I am online. got pc checked fully. no problem. thought usb modem used for dsl connection (speedtouch 330) may be the problem. so shifted to dialup but the problem continues. what can be the problem? am attaching a dump file which was created. would deeply appreciate...
kpsomu BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 11 10-05-2011 11:47 PM
Windows7 BSOD DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE
Hi, I have been trying to find out the reason for the BSOD, but to no avail. Please help. Attaching the Dump files. Thanks, Abhishek.
abhishek.ardey BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 14 08-14-2011 03:01 AM
BSOD Help
I'm a bit of a noob, so I hope I did the correctly. I'm running windows 7. 64 bit. This computer has always had Windows7 on it, and it came with the computer. The computer is 1.5 years old and has always done this. Intel(r) Core(tm)2 Quad CPU Q8400@ 2.66GHz 2.67GHz Video Card: Nvidia...
sasarai1987 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 06-15-2011 11:46 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts