Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Installing new Hard Drive on Sony Vaio Laptop...

This is a discussion on Installing new Hard Drive on Sony Vaio Laptop... within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hiya Everyone...Ive got a new 40gb 2.5" Hard drive for my laptop...I know how to fit it but I am


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2005, 12:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
kerry757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 50
OS: XP


Question

Hiya Everyone...Ive got a new 40gb 2.5" Hard drive for my laptop...I know how to fit it but I am stuck on how to install OS (XP)...I was given the idea of installing the OS through main computer with a 2.5" - 3.5" cable adapter hooked up to the 2.5" Hard drive...everything installed via main computer ok and XP booted up. When I fitted the HD back into the laptop and booted up it wouldnt boot...just went into a reboot loop...I was informed that I cant install the Operating System on Hard Drive from a seperate computer because the Setup Configuration would be different...i cant install the OS from laptop cd drive as i only have an external CD drive running from a USB connection and the new hard drive isnt reading the USB ports. I want to upgrade the hard drive but I don't know the best way of going about it...where can I go from here to install the HD and OS without my external Drive to run XP setup...its probably quite simple but its just knowing how to do it...I have been messing about with this one for a couple of days now so any help would be much appreciated..

Laptops eh...who needs 'em....isn't it nice when things just work!!

Kerry x

__________________
kerry757 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 07:17 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 178
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via AIM to Derek895
Hi Kerry,

I done a search and found the following which seems to address your problem:

http://www.netcal.com/news.php?article=8

Let us know if it works

Derek

__________________
Derek895 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
kerry757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 50
OS: XP


The article is just what I need but there is one problem...I only have a USB Cd drive...no external floppy...I have looked up prices on a floppy and it costs around £30 I would hate to pay out this when I am only going to realistically use it 2 or 3 times...I wonder if there is a similar download but with an ISO image so I can burn onto a cd and use that in the same way.

Kerry X
__________________
kerry757 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:23 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


I think booting froom a floppy is your only option unless your laptop has support for booting from a USB device. You can check cmos for this feature.
__________________
Terrister is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 07:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 178
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via AIM to Derek895
This is a tricky one.

You could give the following a try if you have access to a desktop and and 3.5 - 2.5 adapter.

If your can get the USB drivers onto a floppy from the desktop PC, then connect up your 2.5 HD to the Desktop and boot using a WIN98 Startup disk, this should get you into DOS, then copy the startup disk to the hard disk along with the USB drivers. Hopefully you can then set up the USB drivers on the laptop.
__________________
Derek895 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 08:17 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 178
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via AIM to Derek895
Ignore the above post, as I forgot the drivers are in a disk image.

If you can copy the Windows 98 Start up disk onto the Hard Disk using the 3.5 - 2.5 adapter. Then copy the I386 folder onto the Hard Disk, but don't install. When you put the drive back into the laptop it should boot up from the hard disk as it would if you had a floppy. If that is so, then run the installation from the I386 folder, I think you type WINNT to start it. Windows should then install with the correct configuration for your laptop. You might need to delete the files copied from the startup disk first before you run WINNT.

If this works let us know.

Derek
__________________
Derek895 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 11:31 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
kerry757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 50
OS: XP


Sounds logical...ill give it a shot...are we talking about installing this onto a clean formatted Hard Drive...its just that i have tried to install the OS onto it...so should I re-format the HD and then install the required files?

Thanks

Kerry x
__________________
kerry757 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 11:50 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 178
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via AIM to Derek895
Kerry

Yes, reformat the drive first.
__________________
Derek895 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 12:45 PM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

FWIW, I keep a USB floppy around for these kinds of situations. I don't put floppies on systems anymore, since new BIOS versions allow booting from USB floppies.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 01:37 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Kerry:

maybe gives this a whirl



regards


joe
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 02:18 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
kerry757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 50
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill
FWIW, I keep a USB floppy around for these kinds of situations. I don't put floppies on systems anymore, since new BIOS versions allow booting from USB floppies.

Hi john...I did consider getting an external floppy but they are around £30 and I am saving for my holiday in a couple of weeks...is my bios up to it?

PhoenixBIOS version R0223U1

Machine Name:Sony Vaio PCG-R600MX

Surely the workaround that Derek suggested will work for now?

Kerry x
__________________
kerry757 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 02:29 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
sorry Kerry:

tripped my breaker; i guess

http://bootdisk.com/usb.htm


regards


joe

__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts