Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

How to move hard drive from 1 laptop to another?[MOVED FROM WINDOWS]

This is a discussion on How to move hard drive from 1 laptop to another?[MOVED FROM WINDOWS] within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Dell Inspiron 5150 and the electical connection seems broken. I have another 5100 that I would like


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2008, 01:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
OS: xp sp2 & Vista 6.0.6



I have a Dell Inspiron 5150 and the electical connection seems broken. I have another 5100 that I would like to move my hard drive from the 5150 to the 5100 in order to keep using the laptop. I tried the swap, but it didn't boot up. Ideas?

__________________
dbohnet is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 06:43 AM   #2
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,742
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Hi and welcome to the forum

Short answer is it will NOT work.

As you know a PC is composed of many parts. When windows was installed, it sees those parts and set itself up to work with "those" parts. The HD remembers these parts. If you take the HD out and put it in another PC, since the other PC has different parts the HD can't work with them.

BG

__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate New York, USA
Posts: 280
OS: XP Pro SP3; also a Ws7



Questions: Couldn't the HDD be "scrubbed" clean? Of course all content would be lost, but if the contents are saved and the OS reinstalled all would be well. No?

Trying to educate myself. Apologize for the intrusion.

{redoak}
__________________
redoak is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 07:12 AM   #4
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,742
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Yes, it should work. As you said - save all your important files first to another media (CD/DVD/Thumb drive)

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 07:18 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
RockLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 291
OS: Windows 7 Beta Build 7000, XP Pro SP3



As long as the hard drive is compatible doing it that way shouldn't be any different than installing a new drive
__________________
RockLee is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 07:24 AM   #6
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,885
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by dbohnet View Post
I have a Dell Inspiron 5150 and the electical connection seems broken. I have another 5100 that I would like to move my hard drive from the 5150 to the 5100 in order to keep using the laptop. I tried the swap, but it didn't boot up. Ideas?
Try a repair install on the drive . .

These are good guides to performing a repair install

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
http://www.informationweek.com/windo...leID=189400897

Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts