Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

How can I switch hard drives?

This is a discussion on How can I switch hard drives? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Okay, I know this question has been asked a few times, but I want to switch hard drives with a


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2011, 07:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Can't say.
Posts: 1
OS: Windows Professional



Okay, I know this question has been asked a few times, but I want to switch hard drives with a computer that my mom is offering to give to me but I don't know how. Any suggestions? And please dumb it down 'cause I don't have a clue when you guys mention bios and stuff (my tech terms suck). And I would prefer steps please.

__________________
OhUKnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 06:50 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,629
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


Generally speaking when you switch hard drives, if the new drive has an OS on it, it will not boot. You'll need to format and reinstall an OS after putting the new drive in the PC.

I think it's possible to get around this but I'm not completely sure how.

Anywhow, we need a little more information than what you've provided here.

The procedure for removing and replacing a hard drive in a Dell computer, for instance, is different than it would be for a personally built PC.

Generally the procedure involves unscrewing the hard drive from the case (it might be attached to a bin that removes from the case as well), unplugging the drive from the connector on the motherboard and the data and power connectors on the drive itself, screwing a new drive into place, and attaching the data and power cables.

Afterward you need to set it up in Disk Management in Windows.

But the specifics of that might differ depending on what exactly we're talking about, and whether we're talking about a boot drive or not.

__________________
CompTIA A+, Network+ certified
epshatto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 10:55 AM   #3
IT Specialist
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,959
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Hi OhUKnow,

I recommend posting the computer specs of your computer and the computer specs of your mom's computer. Depending on how new or old the computer is, older hard-drives use a different interface that the newer hard-drives. Just like esphatto said, you just can't swap hard-drives from one computer to another computer. There are plenty of factors that are involved.
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.
DBCooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retreving data from Raid 0 hard drives
Hi All. Hope someone can help me out. I have a Dell Inspiron 1721 which has 2 hard drives and I belive they are RAID 0 hard drives. The board on the computer has broken so it cannot be booted. I believe the hard drives are OK. There are some files on the hard drive which I would like to...
Bungle97 Hard Drive Support 5 07-19-2011 12:29 PM
[SOLVED] Reconfiguring hard drives
Hi I am about to add another smaller hard drive to my system exclusively for the operating system. Current configuration: Disk 0 Boot partition with Win7 Data partition
kevvyb Hard Drive Support 6 03-16-2011 06:23 AM
Hard Drives Acting Up
Hi, I've come across an issue with my hard drives that I haven't seen before. I moved my system into a new case (didn't add any hardware), and since then I have been having issues with my hard drives. The hard drive that has Windows 7 installed on it will randomly hang at the windows splash...
EliteTitan Hard Drive Support 2 03-05-2011 03:30 PM
My Computer does not display external hard drives after re-connecting them
Hello I am new here and after several unfruitful Google sessions and I have no choice but to ask for help! My problem: I have several external hard drives of varying sizes (1TB, 120GB, 70GB) and the same problem occurs with all of them. When I start up my laptop, the drives will appear...
momorae Hard Drive Support 0 02-10-2011 05:06 PM
Computer doesn't boot into hard drive(s)
Hello, I currently have two hard drives and run a dual boot setup. On my main hard drive I have a partition for Windows XP and a partition for the rest of my crap. On my other hard drive I run Ubuntu. Normally I have been using Ubuntu and have had no virus issues whatsoever. Today, I seemed to...
Ithryndil Windows XP Support 3 01-23-2011 10:00 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts