Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

HELP how to Install more than two harddisk

This is a discussion on HELP how to Install more than two harddisk within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Dear computer experts, I am David, My mother board with two IDE port, first one I installed one Master Harddisk


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2004, 07:26 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Dear computer experts,

I am David, My mother board with two IDE port, first one I installed one Master Harddisk and one slave CD-RW, second one I installed one Master harddisk and one slave CD-ROM. My PC still have one harddisk space left, but IDE port is full.

Yesterday I bought one more harddisk, and a new IDE cable one metre long with four slots: ||=========||====||=====|| (something like this).

From my point of view it should be able to allow me to install one more harddisk on the first one so that for the first one I will have two harddisk and one CDRW. but my computer cannot detect my third device, if PC detected my new harddisk, then my CDRW will dis appear, if my PC detected my CDRW, my harddisk will disappear.

I never installed three devices in one IDE port. can some one guide me how to install? Thanks.

__________________
cpas is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 07:28 AM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


An IDE cable with four slots? All of the connectors look the same or are two of them slightly different?

What is your motherboard's specific make/model?

Chances are good, if you wanna do this, that you'll have to buy an additional PCI IDE controller to accomplish.

__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 07:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
OS: XP


My mothreboard is gigabyte GA-6VXE7, running PIII 866.
yes, all ports are same, I have to buy additional hardware? does the IDE cable with four ports enable me to install three devices on one IDE port? the IDE cable is very expensive, cost me $20 the seller said can install three devices, one Master, one Slave one Cable select. but I don't know how?
__________________
cpas is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 07:40 AM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


According to your motherboard's manual, only two IDE devices can be connected to each port, for a total of four devices. Someone else on here may have better experience with this, but I have never seen an IDE port that would take more than two devices.

Get your money back on that cable (and smack that seller), then get a PCI IDE controller card. It should be a breeze from there.
__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 02:15 PM   #5
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

i've never heard of anyone running three ide devices on one channel either...

i am going to go attempt to read about it.
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 03:24 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

The ATA (IDE) channel design is pretty fixed, one master and one slave on a single channel. You will NOT get more than two devices working, I have no idea what the point of an IDE cable with more than two device connections is.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts