Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Hard Drive Squeaking

This is a discussion on Hard Drive Squeaking within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My hard drive has started making odd squeaking noises, as well as bit of a grinding noise when it turns


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2008, 03:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3



My hard drive has started making odd squeaking noises, as well as bit of a grinding noise when it turns off, which probably means it's starting to fail.

I've backed up just about everything, but I was wondering if it's possible to copy the entire contents of the hard drive into a new one, make that the primary hard drive, and have everything still work? Save the need to reinstall everything.

I'm not much of a hardware person, but would this work?

__________________
Bussani is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:57 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional



There is a program called XXClone that is free and it will do exactly what you want. Most of the techs on this forum use that program for their personal computers. Here is the link:

XXClone and if you need any information about this program then read the
XXclone Tutorial

__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 04:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3



Thanks for the advice! That sounds perfect.

Unfortunately while I'm sure the HDD is making an odd noise as it stops, I'm now wondering if the other noise is coming from the power supply unit. Oh well, we'll see.
__________________
Bussani is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 03:06 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional



Do your backup ASAP, then we will worry about the other issue.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 05:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3



I'll have to wait about a week to get my new HDD to do a proper cloning, but I have everything important backed up already. Till then I'm just using my laptop anyway.
__________________
Bussani is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 03:30 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3



One question just for clarification; XXClone will make a complete copy of the drive, right? Operating system, installed programs AND files (pictures, videos, documents, etc)? And then I should just be able to put the new drive in place of the old one as if nothing has changed?
__________________
Bussani is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 03:49 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional



Yep, that is what I use and it works like a charm. Just do the clone and try it before you destroy the original. Always best to do that in any case.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 02:01 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3



Yeah, definitely. I'm the cautious type so I'll probably keep the original around for a while just in case.

Thanks again.
__________________
Bussani is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 05:50 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional



You are most welcome. Let us know how it comes out for you. Have a great weekend.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 04:15 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3



Okay, I switched out the power supply unit with one from one of my older machines and that got rid of the high pitched noise I was hearing. It was the kind of noise that echoed, which is why I thought it was the HDD at first.

That said, the HDD is still making a thudding/bumping noise as it stops, like something's out of balance. New HDD should arrive on Friday, so I'll do the cloning then just to be safe.

One more question; using XXClone, if there's any data on the target drive to begin with, is it just overwritten? Or do you need to format the new drive in a certain way before using XXClone?
__________________
Bussani is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 04:21 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional



XXClone should take care of that when you enable the "cool tools" that will redo the mbr and other necessary options.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 12:05 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3



I just got through installing the new drive and cloning the old one. I ended up using Acronis True Image instead of XXClone, since my pushy friend insisted it worked wonders for him. So far so good. I have the original drive if anything goes wrong.

Thanks for all the help Tumbleweed36.
__________________
Bussani is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 04:11 AM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional



You are most welcome and acronis is a great program, but not always free. Have a great weekend.

__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts