Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Hard Drive shows up in Windows but not in BIOS

This is a discussion on Hard Drive shows up in Windows but not in BIOS within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm running Windows XP. Pentium 4. The drive in question that isn't showing up in BIOS is a Western Digital


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2012, 09:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
OS: XP: Service Pack 3



I'm running Windows XP. Pentium 4.
The drive in question that isn't showing up in BIOS is a Western Digital 500gb.

On the 500gb drive is Windows XP and I want to boot from that drive.
The drive I am running now is a 25gb drive, also running windows XP.

So what happened is that I was running the 500gb drive perfectly and then one day it decides to crash. I have a backup drive (the 25gb one), so I booted windows off that. Once windows was loaded on the 25gb, I could see the 500gb one and all the files still there, but it's not showing up in the BIOS. My question is why and how can I fix it?
Thanks.

__________________
aman207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 02:15 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,606
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


It is virtually impossible for a drive to be recognized in Windows and not be recognized in the Bios.
What are the jumper pins set to on the 25GB drive? And the 500Gb drive? Are they on the Same IDE ribbon? If 2 drives are sharing the same ribbon plugged into the Primary slot on the motherboard, then one drive must be set as Master and the other as Slave, or both as CS (Cable Select) Try separating the drives to separate IDE Ribbon cables. The boot drive plugged into the Primary slot on the motherboard with the jumper pin set to CS and the other drives jumper set to CS in the Secondary slot.
If as you say, the drive is recognized in Windows, go to Start/Run and type Diskmgmt.msc and press enter. In Disk Management window, does your drive show up here?

spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
OS: XP: Service Pack 3



Sorry forgot to mention this before. The 500gb is a SATA 3. So no ribbon cable for that drive.
__________________
aman207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 02:23 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,606
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


What is the make and model# of your motherboard? Does it support SATA III? SATA III drive is backwards compatible to a SATA II motherboard. Boot into Setup (Bios) and look to Boot Priority. Primary IDE drive should be set as first boot device. Is the SATA drive in the Boot Priority? What port is the 500GB SATA drive plugged into on the motherboard? (ex) SATA0, SATA1 etc Is the port Enabled? Have you tried changing the SATA cable? Have you tried a different power plug? Have you tried a different SATA channel?
Again, it is virtually impossible for a drive to show up in Windows and not show in the Bios, the Bios must recognize the drive for it to show up in Windows.
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 12:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
OS: XP: Service Pack 3



Sorry for taking so long to reply. It is a foxconn motherboard and the model number is 925XE7AA.
I actually figured some things out. My SATA ports are broken. My CD/DVD player, which is also attached via sata, doesn't work either. But I do have raid sata ports which is what the 500gb drive is attached to now. Before it was attached to the regular sata ports.

__________________
aman207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DDS Report. How Long?
Following advise from a forum mod i am following the steps to run the DDS & GMER reports so i can post them with details of my system problems. I have ran the GMER report with no issues but when i ran the DDS yesterday it ran for over 5 hours without producing anything? It was also at this...
cDubya Resolved HJT Threads 44 08-28-2012 07:27 AM
happili.com virus
Hi, I wrote yesterday that believe i have the happili.com virus and cannot remove it. I was told to follow the pre-post instructions. However, I could not run dds.scr. It would open ans tell me to wait. It said the scan should not last more than 3 minutes. But it never ended and I could not close...
sharkfan12 Resolved HJT Threads 23 04-17-2012 01:38 PM
HELP PLEASE!!!!!!!
Hi, For 2 weeks now, I have a problem with my laptop. Finally I just found you via http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f100/malware-removal-help-438072.html] and now I began hoping (please forgive my English!!). Could you please please help me too?? I have this laptop and more or...
Vladia Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 1 01-08-2012 09:16 AM
Suspected Malware In Neighbors Computer
I originally went to fix his printer but I think that is being affected by malware. The things I think are fishy is whitesmoke toolbar and something called yontoo. I ran his antivirus and cleaned up what it found. Windows install CD is a no for now, I have asked him if he has it and but he is...
kmssd Resolved HJT Threads 20 01-03-2012 08:44 PM
"System Fix" virus hijacked computer
Hello, I’ve got a computer infected with the “System Fix” Virus. I believe the OS is Windows XP Professional. Searching the Tech Support Forum lead me to this thread: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f50/im-in-trouble-614906.html Since that thread is getting quite long, I figured...
SilentJim Resolved HJT Threads 48 12-02-2011 09:10 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts