Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Hard Drive Error Message: Data Error (Cyclic-Redundancy Check)

This is a discussion on Hard Drive Error Message: Data Error (Cyclic-Redundancy Check) within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Just now, after I deleted a file (a rather large file) on my Hard Drive, my computer became mad slow


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2004, 11:05 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
OS: WinXP



Just now, after I deleted a file (a rather large file) on my Hard Drive, my computer became mad slow and acting all glitchy and stuff. So I went and restarted my computer (Start, shut down, restart). After it restarted, I can't access that hard drive anymore. I go into DOS prompt, and it says "Data Error (Cyclic-Redundancy Check)". When I try double clicking it in windows, it says "This drive have not been formatted." I tried to run scandisk on it, but it says it can't access that drive. I tried defragging it, and it says the same. What's going on??? All my homeworks and stuff are on it, i can't afford to lose all of it... Can anyone tell me how to fix this?

EDIT: Although I could not access it, I went to Device Manager, and my HD was listed, and says it is working properly. I'm running under Windows XP, with a Western Digital 100GB HD, and my 2nd HD, the Western Digital 160GB HD, is the one that is giving me the error.

__________________
xDarKnighTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 06:47 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP SP2



I am having the exact same problem. Can someone help me?

__________________
Natalya[AF] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 09:16 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 425
OS: Windows XP Home



Try this
http://www.techsupportforum.com/f16/...er-194492.html
__________________
swaffml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:24 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP



I am having the same problem with my 160Gb Hitachi.. anyone has a solution?
__________________
khai1027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 06:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp



I am having the same problem with my 80 gb samsung hard disk..cant copy files.. anyone has a solution?
__________________
jibinsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 04:45 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 425
OS: Windows XP Home



Try running chkdsk on the drive with the /r option chkdsk (drive letter): /R
__________________
swaffml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 01:29 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Vista



I am having the same problem too.

chkdsk is not a recognizable command on my Windows 7-64 bit computer.

Test disk can't get past the scan for drives...it tells me Please wait...but nothing ever populates the screen after waiting for up to half an hour.

I am running Windows 7 - 64 bit.
I have an external WD 1 TB hard drive connected with USB that is partitioned into drive G and drive H.

H is where my important data is and it is suddently "not accessible" and it wants me to format it to use it. I click NO to that then the box pops up DATA ERROR (CYCLIC REDUNDANCY CHECK).

G still works fine so I know it is not the actual hard drive or cable causing the problem.

Both were formatted NTFS and given a name of WD 1 TB first (G) and WD 1 TB second (H). G still has it's given name and is still NTFS. H is now just LOCAL disk that is listed as RAW.

I have tried restarting the computer but that does not change anything.

I have tried a cold boot and that brought the drive back so I started a backup and went to bed. Got up in the morning and the backup had stalled out, early on, as drive H went back to being a LOCAL drive that is RAW.

I downloaded both versions of Test Disk and tried to run them as administrator.

I tried the 32 bit first as I assumed I had WoW64 from what I had read. When that didn't work, (stalled out with please wait after choosing No Log and hitting the enter key) I downloaded and ran the 64 bit version but the same thing happens... I choose No Log, hit the enter key, then am greeted with Please Wait... but nothing ever populates after that and I've waited up to a half an hour.

What do I do next?

thank you in advance for your assistance,
Cindy

__________________
Cindy62707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts