Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Hard drive asking to be formatted but i need my data

This is a discussion on Hard drive asking to be formatted but i need my data within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Okay this is probably a simple enough problem, and one that has been asked a million times over... Basically my


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2012, 09:01 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
OS: winXP



Okay this is probably a simple enough problem, and one that has been asked a million times over...

Basically my external hard drive has suddenly stopped working properly. its freezing up when i 'explore' it and i cant get to any of the files stored on it. the explorer stops responding after clicking into at most two folders.

Then a notifaction box pops up saying... "disk is not formatted. format it now?"


I cant format it because i REALLY REALLY dont want to lose the data on it. please tell me theres a simple way i can just fix it please!!

Iv had a little browse around and iv heard something about 'testDisk' or something. iv downloaded it but dont really know what im doing with it.


Can someone please direct me to what i must do to retrieve my data???????

__________________
al-awn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:31 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Go here for Testdisk tutorial: TestDisk Step By Step - CGSecurity

Be advised that it's never a good idea to store valuable data on only one hard drive, especially when it's an external drive since they are more prone to early failure than internal ones. You should put your data on at least two drives and keep them synchronised regularly, otherwise you don't have any backups and that is just asking for trouble.

__________________
pip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
OS: winXP



Iv had a look but its making absolutely no sense to me. :(

Could someone just walk me through what i need to do, and put it in simple terms cos i dont know much of this techy stuff.

If it makes it any easier, i only have one partition in my drive...??
__________________
al-awn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:48 PM   #4
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Download R-Studio Disk Recovery Software and Hard Drive Recovery tool for Windows run it in demo mode scan the drive see if it can find the data if yes then pay for software and save to another drive. R-Studio has almost step by step help in the program and in the support portal. If that turns out to be too difficult then you may want to seek a pro to recover the drive. Many on here have been successful with r-studio its a good program.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital hard problem (500gb)
Hello! I have a problem with a hard (WDC WD50 00AADS-00S9B), namely with Windows. You can install and everything goes ok but when it starts after installation (and others) get in windows but crashes after 2-3 seconds and if I do nothing. I want to know if the problem is the hdd or something and if...
DanySur Hard Drive Support 4 03-12-2012 11:37 PM
Need help in building my first PC
I need someone's help in building my first custom-PC well i am going for a budget PC... My budget is real tight so here goes... Core i3 2100 @ 3.1gHz Intel DH61SA Mobo 2gb Kingston DDRIII RAM 120GB HDD SATA nVidia GTS 450 and finally i need a suggestion for my PSU im going for Coolermaster...
007avenger007 Building 8 03-08-2012 02:38 PM
Best Way To Set Up a Home Network.
I currently have a home network set up, but I've been adding/removing computers to it for a while, and whenever I've had trouble with one, I've changed settings, and then in some cases changed them back, and the whole thing is a mess. So, I want to start again fresh, and set up the network the...
Matt 20 Networking Support 5 03-08-2012 07:58 AM
Laptop fail to Boot - Possible HDD problem
I own an ASUS A52JR laptop and from yesterday it doesn't boot at all. No ASUS logo on startup, no access to BIOS. Just a black screen. The light indicator for power supply is on. I removed the HDD and then the computer boots correctly (of course it doesn't load windows as the HDD is out). I can see...
asta_thes Laptop Support 2 03-08-2012 12:38 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts