Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Hard disk shows error:needs to be formatted

This is a discussion on Hard disk shows error:needs to be formatted within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2010, 07:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
OS: win 7



Hi All,

I have a Seagate free agent 500gb hard disk. Its showing error: needs to be formatted. I have all my pictures and datas on it. I have tried chkdisk and partition tablé doctor but nothing worked.

I am very much frustrated that Seagate company says that they can replace it as its in under warranty but they will not guarantee about the data. Who D hell care for drive. I need my Data...



Jai

__________________
jaigoyal.iitkgp is offline  
Old 06-18-2010, 01:49 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



No HD manufacturer will be responsible for your data, it's not just seagate. Try scanning with the demo version of r-studio and see if your files are found.

__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 03:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
OS: win 7



I tried with Stellar phoenix photo recovery and it founds some of files on it but finally when i tried to recover it, it asked for key and Hell ..a lot of money

so i think files are there but these softwares are not able to show all of them so even if i buy key then i wont get all the data.

I think there is an mbr problem ..any suggestion for that
__________________
jaigoyal.iitkgp is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 04:54 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



I've gotten much better results with r-studio as opposed to Stellar, but it's like anything I guess, you get what you pay for, r-studio is only about $50 for the single files system version. You could try scanning with partition find and mount and see if it can identify the partition table, then mount the partition and copy out your data, it's freeware www.findandmount.com
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts