Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

External Hard Drive Error - Need to Format

This is a discussion on External Hard Drive Error - Need to Format within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I am running Windows Vista, I have a 1.5 Terabite WD Elements External Hard Drive. It has all my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2011, 12:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



Hi, I am running Windows Vista, I have a 1.5 Terabite WD Elements External Hard Drive. It has all my files on it. I was browsing through it when it suddenly froze and said that I needed to format the disk before I could use it. I haven't been able to get it to work since. I found some people with similar problems but I didn't want to try any of the solutions particular to them incase it caused another problem (as one of the reccomendations - run chkdsk on it - said that it could cause data loss). What should I do? Thanks.

__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 07:06 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Can you fell the drive spinning up and is it making any other noise? And you are correct not to run chkdsk until it is determined that it may be an issue chkdsk can handle.

__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 05-04-2011, 03:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



Ok thanks. The drive has always been pretty silent but if I put my ear right next to it I can hear a running noise and feel slight movement.
__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 02:56 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



Is this some kind of recognition problem of the hard drive or do I need to run some kind of data recovery software? Thanks
__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 03:10 PM   #5
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Its possible the controller in the External Case that communicates with your computers USB port has failed and the drive "could" be ok. Can you remove the drive from the external enclosure ? The only "issue" is if your specific model of External WD drive is using Encryption if yes then the data will be encrypted and not readable. Post the exact model of the Ext WD from the sticker on it as well.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 06:48 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



I don't see any screws or how the external enclosure can be removed, although there could well be some way of popping it open. The model number is WDBAAU0015HBK-AESN. Thanks.
__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 07:45 PM   #7
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



This model seems to be sold in Australia It seems to be encrypted as well. Have you tried a new USB cable to the drive ? Have you tried running R-Studio or any of the other recovery software programs to see if any data shows up to recover. If that's not something you want to run consider sending it to a DR firm.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 09:47 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



Is R-Studio the best thing to run? I also have been told to use TestDisk to repair the partition (although I got stuck in the instructions for that). If you think I should use TestDisk, I will post the problem I am having with it, if R-Studio, I'll give it a try, thanks.
__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 07:53 AM   #9
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Yes you can use Testdisk not as user friendly interface as R-studio. Testdisk can do the job its very powerful but you have to "read" the documentation for it to better understand how to use it.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 04:16 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



I was going through the instructions for TestDisk, but was having difficulty because what showed on my screen was different than the corresponding image in the instructions.
When I got to 'current partition table status' it did not show up with anything other than "no partition is bootable" (unlike the picture in the guide).
I pressed Quicksearch and got this:

Only one partition appeared, unlike the guide picture.

I pressed P to list files, this appears:

Again, different to the guide.

Seeing it went some way off what the guide images were like, and it didn't mention that this might happen, I wasn't sure whether I was meant to proceed and do deeper search or write or whatever, or if there was something wrong and I might cause some further problem!

Any advice?

Or should I just give R-Studio a try instead?

Thanks.
__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 06:40 AM   #11
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Its an external drive so I wouldn't expect it to be "bootable" Yes run the deep scan and report back
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 07:54 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



I've attached the log if that helps.
Attached Files
File Type: txt testdisklog.txt (13.6 KB, 37 views)
__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 08:05 PM   #13
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Looks like you have some issues with the drive "read errors" if the data is needed you need to consider sending it off to a DR Pro with the equipment and knowledge to recover the data on this drive.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 08:56 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



I did want to try and get it fixed for free before I sent it to a DR expert. I could give R-Studio a try. It appears to be a software that you have to buy? Will I be able to tell by running the demo whether it would be able to recover my files or not? Thanks
__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 09:10 AM   #15
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Quote:
Originally Posted by paint View Post
I did want to try and get it fixed for free before I sent it to a DR expert. I could give R-Studio a try. It appears to be a software that you have to buy? Will I be able to tell by running the demo whether it would be able to recover my files or not? Thanks
R-Studio has a try before you buy option you can tell what it can see before you commit to purchase
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Old 05-31-2011, 09:42 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



I ran R-Studio, tried a scan on the drive, it just got to a certain point and then would not go any further because of a read error. Is that it or is there a way to refine the scan to deal with this bad sector or whatever the problem is?
This is what it showed:

Error System 1/06/2011 4:32:14 p.m. Read disk WDExt HDD 10212002 at position 3222277120 failed after 2 attempts. Data error (cyclic redundancy check) (23).
Error System 1/06/2011 4:32:19 p.m. Read disk WDExt HDD 10212002 at position 3222277632 failed after 2 attempts. Data error (cyclic redundancy check) (23).
Error System 1/06/2011 4:32:48 p.m. Read disk G: at position 3221228544 failed after 2 attempts. Data error (cyclic redundancy check) (23).
Error System 1/06/2011 4:32:59 p.m. Read disk G: at position 3221229056 failed after 2 attempts. Data error (cyclic redundancy check) (23).
Information System 1/06/2011 4:34:44 p.m. Scanning drive WDExt HDD 10212002 started
Error System 1/06/2011 4:35:53 p.m. Read disk WDExt HDD 10212002 at position 323592192 failed after 1 attempts. The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error (1117).
Error System 1/06/2011 4:35:57 p.m. Read disk WDExt HDD 10212002 at position 323592704 failed after 1 attempts. Data error (cyclic redundancy check) (23).
Error System 1/06/2011 4:36:00 p.m. Read disk WDExt HDD 10212002 at position 323593216 failed after 1 attempts. Data error (cyclic redundancy check) (23).
Error System 1/06/2011 4:36:03 p.m. Read disk WDExt HDD 10212002 at position 323593728 failed after 1 attempts. Data error (cyclic redundancy check) (23).
Error System 1/06/2011 4:36:31 p.m. Read disk WDExt HDD 10212002 at position 323594240 failed after 1 attempts. Data error (cyclic redundancy check) (23).
Error Disk 1/06/2011 4:36:31 p.m. Read disk WDExt HDD 10212002 at position 323493888 failed. Scan process terminated.
Information System 1/06/2011 4:36:32 p.m. Scan has been completed for WDExt HDD 10212002 in 1m 47s
Information System 1/06/2011 4:36:32 p.m. Scanning drive WDExt HDD 10212002 canceled
Information System 1/06/2011 4:36:44 p.m. Enumeration of files for Extra Found Files started
Information System 1/06/2011 4:36:44 p.m. Enumeration of files for Extra Found Files completed
__________________
paint is offline  
Old 05-31-2011, 11:12 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Multiple (currently Singapore)
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista



I have the exact same problem as you. 1.5tb WD elements HD bought in singapore (so probably same as ozzie one) and windows vista. It just froze all of a sudden and couldnt be accessed, needed to be formatted too... only showed up in explorer as Local Disk G: instead of the usual WD logo and name... also have all the same screenshots as you and even the 'cyclic redundancy check' showing up as well

I had luck the first time round using testdisk but I wasn't sure how I fixed it.. unfortunately that only lasted 3 days before the same issue arose. This time round I can't fix it (also this is the time I get the cyclic redundancy crap).

I stumped up and bought a new hard drive (not WD) and am currently copying my files over to the new one using testdisk then will format the old one. I think this might be a cheaper option for you than a data recovery expert and at the end of the day you have a new hard drive too :)
__________________
MosesSilva is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 05:07 AM   #18
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Guys your drives have some serious read errors either due to weak head/heads or sectors going bad. No windows recovery software that I am aware of can get past these errors. Those of us in the DR field have paid thousands for systems that are able to image past these errors and get as much of the data as possible. You need to see Pro help to get the data off the drive at this point DIY has ended.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 06:11 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Multiple (currently Singapore)
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista



Agreed that both drives are fuct. However I got almost all the data off (lost around 16 gig) using recover on testdisk. Also it did take near 26 hours for 500gb. Still I did lose some files as testdisk ran up an error saying - failed to open index allocation attribute. Directory inode (xxx) is corrupt or bug. I'm guessing this caused the problem?? Can anyone verify that or understand what it means?

Still I believe there is hope for u if u buy another drive and transfer. Like I said, worst case scenario u just have another drive for the future
__________________
MosesSilva is offline  
Old 06-01-2011, 06:22 AM   #20
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Quote:
Originally Posted by MosesSilva View Post
Still I did lose some files as testdisk ran up an error saying - failed to open index allocation attribute. Directory inode (xxx) is corrupt or bug. I'm guessing this caused the problem?? Can anyone verify that or understand what it means? Still I believe there is hope for u if u buy another drive and transfer. Like I said, worst case scenario u just have another drive for the future
MosesSilva the errors you are getting are more than likely due to sector problems with the media on the drive platters not something that can be fixed. Try running hddscan on the drive and press the smart button and past the image back here. I doubt the drive will get copied to another with all the errors most likely it will hang during the process

__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive not being recogonized etc.
Hello, I'm new to these forums, but basically I'll give you guys as much description as possible to my problems so maybe I can get some help. My hard drive which was a Seagate Barracuda 7200 1TB from HP failed on me once more, this is the second Seagate I have received from HP. The...
TheSeeker07 Hard Drive Support 11 02-22-2011 03:51 PM
Holy crap! External hard drive shows nothing!
Samsung nm-0802 external hard drive issue. Drive doesn't show anything on windows 7!? I had been using that drive just fine on Windows XP, every time I plugged in the USB, it'll prompt me for password for the external drive. But when I connect it do a new laptop ...
BBoo Removable Media Drives 3 02-16-2011 05:20 AM
Dell Latitude D620 - read failure on internal hard drive
I am a computer tech and I have a client that has a Dell Latitude D620 running XP Professional. Problem is that when you turn it on it gets to a black screen that says "read failure on internal hard drive". Obviously from the message it seems like a bad hard drive. I have ran the 1st part...
tcsllc Laptop Support 7 01-17-2011 01:19 PM
Can an external HDD function as the ONLY hard drive?
I'm building my first computer soon, a $950 gaming rig, and I'm going to be selling my laptop to fund the rig. I was going to buy an external hard drive in advance so I can copy everything I need to it from my laptop. But, if I got a 1T external HDD, could I just use it as the main drive in my...
Floobles Hard Drive Support 11 01-05-2011 09:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts