Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

External hard drive doesn't work

This is a discussion on External hard drive doesn't work within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Just recently, my Western Digital external hard drive failed to work. It shows up in the "safely remove hardware" menu,


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2011, 01:17 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
OS: vista



Just recently, my Western Digital external hard drive failed to work. It shows up in the "safely remove hardware" menu, and even states the drive letter it had when it was working (G). However, G doesn't appear in My Computer, and I have no way to access it at all.
I have tried turning off the hard drive plugging it in to different ports, and turning my computer off and on to no avail. Additionally, if I leave it on and plugged to my computer, my computer will not fully start up. It will get to the point where the Windows logo would normally appear with a jingle, but it will just stay there , on a black screen. Unplugging or turning off the drive will allow me to proceed. It also greatly prolongs the amount of time just to get to that point.
As well, I have tried to change its properties with the disk management tool, but it just hangs on saying "connecting to Virtual Disk Service" forever, until I unplug or turn off my external hard drive. If I plug the drive in after it starts displaying my normal hard drive, and then refresh, it displays both my external and my normal hard drive, however, I am unable to make any changes, as it freezes at this point. from this point on, the disk management tool will, always hang on "connecting to Virtual Disk Service", even if I unplug my external hard drive.
Thanks in advance for any help.

__________________
qwertzy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 07:44 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Could be a faulty drive. Test it with WD's diagnostic software "Data Lifeguard Diagnostic For Windows" from here: WD Support / Downloads / WD Elements / WD Elements Desktop

Ignore the picture of the external drive shown if yours is different. The same software can be used to test any external WD drive.

When testing, choose the "Long Test" for an accurate result.

__________________
pip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:27 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
OS: vista



If I plug it in it doesn't show up, unless I unplug it, in which case it shows up for less than a second as physical drive 2, and logical drive G.
There's something important I forgot to mention in my initial post: I was using this drive for 7 months without any problems.
__________________
qwertzy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 08:07 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Can you actually feel the drive spin up?
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:22 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
OS: vista



Yes I can. It doesn't behave any differently from normal.
__________________
qwertzy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 08:35 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



Can you test it in a different computer?
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 12:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
OS: vista



I tried it in a different computer. I had the exact same problems.
__________________
qwertzy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 08:31 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: VIETNAM
Posts: 6
OS: XP pro


Send a message via Yahoo to hddlabvn

Maybe your drive have bad in SA so firmware can't work normally.
__________________
hddlabvn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 11:46 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 33
OS: xp



Hi, it seems that the problem is in hard drive. As u said that you have tried it to another system also, giving same problem means it has some issue. Is it creating any clicking noise? Try to maintain all the backup of your data if possible.
__________________
Jacy757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 06:47 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



The next step would be to pull the drive out of the USB enclosure and connect it directly to a port in a desktop as an internal drive.
__________________
raptor_pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 12:37 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
OS: vista



Okay. I've decided to take the drive to a computer shop to see if they can do anything (I don't really know anything about computers myself). They will try connecting it directly to a computer, repairing it if it can be repaired, or trying to recover the data if it can't.
That'll be all.
Should I mark this thread as solved?

__________________
qwertzy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set External Hard Drive to Slave
I have a Toshiba Desktop External Hard Drive, and i have it connected to my (HP a1730n with windows vista) computer via the eSATA port. I am trying to boot the computer normally, but with the external hard drive set to slave mode. However, by default, it is set to master, and there is no physical...
dominobrowny44 Hard Drive Support 1 02-27-2011 05:36 PM
Running games from an external hard drive
Back in my earlier high school days, I remember running games like Starcraft or Diablo II off of a friend's flash drive. I never had the chance to see exactly how he did it, so... Help? I've installed the game to my external hard drive, the game in its OWN folder of course. Annndd... yeah....
Zefrine Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 02-24-2011 08:53 PM
Holy crap! External hard drive shows nothing!
Samsung nm-0802 external hard drive issue. Drive doesn't show anything on windows 7!? I had been using that drive just fine on Windows XP, every time I plugged in the USB, it'll prompt me for password for the external drive. But when I connect it do a new laptop ...
BBoo Removable Media Drives 3 02-16-2011 05:20 AM
[SOLVED] Replacing exsisting SATA hard drive problem
My external hard drive recently stopped working. I have found that this due to a problem with the USB chip, so I have removed the hard drive from it's casing and am trying to find out how to get the information from it. My thoughts were to try and connect it to my desktop PC internally where I...
grantrough Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 01-03-2011 02:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts