Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

External eSATA RAID device - Please help!!

This is a discussion on External eSATA RAID device - Please help!! within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I need help from someone who is an expert in RAID configurations and troubleshooting. I have an IT company and


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2012, 08:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



I need help from someone who is an expert in RAID configurations and troubleshooting.

I have an IT company and am ashamed that I don't know more about RAID than I do. (please don't kick me while I'm a little down)

I have a customer that brought me his computer and external storage device because he couldn't access any of the data on the device after he upgraded a driver on his computer. Here is the equipment:

G-Speed ES external RAID storage device
link - G-SPEED eS - External RAID and JBOD Up to 12TB | G-Technology

HighPoint RocketRAID 2314 controller card
link - HighPoint-RocketRAID 2314

He has 4 X 3TB Hitachi drives in the G-Speed ES configured to RAID 0 for a total of a 12TB of storage.

When he brought the equipment to me, I uninstalled the RAID controller drivers and reinstalled them. When I reconnected the G-Speed, I did not connect it to the RocketRAID (which has the port multiplier technology). I instead connected it to the onboard eSATA. I went to Disk Management in the Control Panel (he has Vista), and a window popped up telling me "You must initialize a disk before Logical Disk Manager can access it." I wasn't thinking, and chose "OK". Then, Vista initialized the disk with a MBR partition and the disk began showing up in Disk Management as 3TB of Unallocated Space.

I figured out that it needed to be plugged into the RocketRAID, but now when I plug it into the RocketRAID, the whole 12TB (actually about 11.2TB) is showing up in Disk Management as one drive with 12TB Unallocated Space.

It's a weird configuration to me, not the typical RAID setup. One eSATA cable connects from the G-Speed to the RocketRAID card, almost like a USB hub would connect and show multiple devices. When the one eSATA cable is connected, nothing shows up in My Computer, but as I stated above, the entire 12TB shows up in Disk Management as Unallocated.

I would appreciate any help from techs that know what they are doing with this. PLEASE do not just start throwing out things to try. I really need someone who is a genius at working with RAID and even the Port Multiplier technology, which I haven't seen before.

Thanks in advance!

__________________
Tech-Harmony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 09:51 AM   #2
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Tech-harmony May I make a suggestion since your dealing with "customer" data and you have made some admitted mistakes it may be in you and your customers best interest to hand this off to a pro with the tools knowledge to resolve this. RAID0 recovery is no cake walk. I have done many myself. This one wont be easy since the drives have been initialized. If not evident Customer should "ALWAYS" have a backup that needs resolved during this excersise.

Try not to take offense this is just another point of view. You are posting on a forum that is "manned" by volunteers that are not paid. Yes their are some really good techs on here but this is a "free" forum I think your expectations are a tad high based on your post. You want a "genius" to assist you in a difficult recovery of important customer data on a "free" forum.

not sure where you are located not in your current profile

I would call Craig at Raid Recovery Labs RAID DATA RECOVERY - In-Lab and Remote Data Recovery he is a "genius" but far from "free" if your customers data is worth it he will help you out. let Craig know I sent you his way as a professional courtesy.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD - Help needed!!
I keep getting BSOD the Error code says: DRIVER IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL Stop Code: 0X000000D1 File Code: dxgkrnl.sys MY computer is a Packard Bell 32 bit, 2gb Ram, intel pentium dual processor. I am running Windows Vista SP2 but it was pre loaded and I dont have the disk. I am not very...
SarahFreckles BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 8 03-30-2012 09:39 AM
NEED HELP FINDING A ULTRA PORTABLE LAPTOP WITH A TRACKPOINT
Hey Guys, I am new on the forums, I have had many Laptops in the past. Ok First of all my budget I wanna stay under $1000, but can go up on the price if I really feel like the laptop is WOW! CLIFFS NOTES: **MAINLY NEED ULTRAPORTABLE LAPTOP WITH A TRACKPOINT! **WANT 3-4 LB Laptop with...
xraheelx Laptop Support 12 02-29-2012 01:06 PM
a folder in an external hard disk is missing
I am currently use a hitachi 500g of external hard disk but my movie folder is missing. when I right click on the properties, it shows that I have used about 420g and there's only a liitle free spaces left. My movie's folder is around 400g . Where is it ? Please hep me ? Before this, it works just...
sameerzakri Hard Drive Support 2 02-27-2012 01:36 AM
My graphics card is not detected by my pc but works in friends computer. Help!
I have an msi twin frozr gtx 560ti oc graphics card and it has now stopped working. It does not show up on device manager so i have to use the onboard graphics. First i tried to use driver sweeper to delete the nvidia drivers but for some reason it wasnt working so i decided to reinstall...
Lateralus358 Video Card Support 8 02-25-2012 08:54 AM
My 2TB Seagate External Hard Drive comes up as 'corrupted and unreadable'. HELP!!
I just bought it about a month and a half ago. It's not full but I started dumping everything valueable onto it. 'Windows disk write failed' would appear every now and then after a file transfer but would disappear after a restart. This time I had removed the USB cable for the hard drive out of...
RulerDivine Hard Drive Support 1 02-25-2012 08:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts