Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

exFAT and Mac compatibility

This is a discussion on exFAT and Mac compatibility within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. EDIT: Okay, further research has found the answer and it is NO! Macs can't write to exFAT. So now my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2009, 06:17 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: WV
Posts: 72
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit



EDIT:
Okay, further research has found the answer and it is NO! Macs can't write to exFAT. So now my question is how come in Vista I only have the options to format it in NTFS or exFAT and not FAT32?

______________________________________________________________
I have a 500GB seagate free agent go. I am trying to format it in FAT32 because I need to use it on both a PC and a Mac (Mac can't write to NTFS). When I try to format it in Vista I only have the options of NTFS and exFAT, but no FAT32. So question 1 is will exFAT work with Macs? If not why does it not give me the option to format it in FAT32? At first I was thinking maybe the drive is too large, but I believe that when I bought it it came formatted in FAT32 and I reformatted it in NTFS because at the time I didn't plan on using it with a Mac.

I don't want to go ahead and format it in exFAT, transfer all my data to it and then take it to class Monday only to find out that I can't edit my files, so I want to be sure that Mac can read and write to exFAT. I'm hoping they can because of the benefits of exFAT over FAT32.

Thanks.

__________________
claycad is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 10:52 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,921
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1, Windows 7 SP1 x64 & x86, VISTA SP2 x64 & x86, Windows XP SP3

My System


Vista can format FAT32 but only up to 32GB.

__________________
Lead3 is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 08:19 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
OS: Vista SP2



Windows Vista GUI programs will only format up to 32GB as FAT32, but using the CMD window you can format up to a 1TB drive.

format [drive]: /FS:FAT32
__________________
ChronosFT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts