Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Disk 1: Dynamic Errors

This is a discussion on Disk 1: Dynamic Errors within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I use a Seagate 500gb and I recently bought another one, exactly the same. In BIOS it detects the 2nd


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2009, 12:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 64bit



I use a Seagate 500gb and I recently bought another one, exactly the same. In BIOS it detects the 2nd Seagate fine, and everything seems to be working.

When I went to My Computer, only my main (C:/) drive was showing up. So I went into Disk Management and saw Disk 0: main hard drive, etc. and Disk 1: Unallocated space.

I could not format or anything so I was trying random options hoping for the best. At first I turned the drive from a basic drive to a dynamic drive. Then I right clicked and hit 'offline' and the second hard drive would not show up in My Computer still, but now it wasn't in Disk Management either.

I played around a bit in the DOS menu of 'diskpart'. I got the drive back online, but the status of the drive in Disk Management is now: "Disk 1: Dynamic Errors". If I right click my ONLY options are Offline, Properties, Help.

In 'diskpart' I tried to run the command 'clean' and 'clean noerr' to try to bypass errors, but it said "The operation could not complete on a drive that is read only."

Now I don't know what to do. ALL I want is to be able to use my second hard drive. There's no information on it, so I don't care about saving anything. If I have to wipe the hard drive somehow as well as my main working hard drive, I don't care. As long as I can get them both working together. PLEASE HELP!

P.S. I use Windows 7 64bit.

__________________
Kipzy is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:27 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belfast N.I.
Posts: 1,551
OS: Puppy Linux 4.12



Google Gpart. Its a Linux partition manager, very powerful. It comes on Puppy Linux live cd, although I believe you can now download it by itself. It has two partition managers.
If Gpart won't do what you want the second will.
I believe that Win7 has the ability ti burn ISOs. Apparently you double click the ISO and point it to the burner.

__________________
belfasteddie is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 04:19 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
raptor_pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central PA
Posts: 10,197
OS: XP



ALternatively - zero wipe the disk with killdisk or dban and start over with a fresh slick disk...
__________________
raptor_pa is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 12:54 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 64bit



Thank you raptor_pa! I tried dban before but it didn't work, killdisk worked great! I was still unable to use the hard drive after but it cleared the errors and such.

Afterwords I realized it was stuck as a read-only drive so I had to go into diskpart and clear it's attributes. After that I could format and voila!

Thanks again!
__________________
Kipzy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts