Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Data recovery problem

This is a discussion on Data recovery problem within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I've done a terrible mistake. I bought a Zyxel Nas540 recently and i plugged my HDD's with my data

Old 01-30-2016, 10:13 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi, I've done a terrible mistake.

I bought a Zyxel Nas540 recently and i plugged my HDD's with my data in them and created a RAID5 volume. Since i am a newbie about this stuff i didn't know it will change the file format completely. I tried to connect my hdd's back to my computer to backup the data but all of the hdd's are damaged. I am able to reach the files by using a recovery tool but they are all in "lost files" section and not all of them are there... Is there a way to restore last file system ?

thank you for your help.
PoYo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-30-2016, 10:44 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

My System

Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Creating any type of RAID will destroy all of the files on that drive. The only way to recover them would be a professional recovery team. There are some programs like GetDataBack that may be able to locate the data.
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 03:11 PM   #3
Moderator - Microsoft Support Team

Of all the commonly used RAID levels, RAID 5 is the most complex. Data recovery from a RAID 5 array can be challenging, even for a data recovery professional.

There is one basic concept that all RAID users should understand:

No form of RAID ever devised is a backup solution.