Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Computer Won't Recognize Secondary 500GB Hard Drive

This is a discussion on Computer Won't Recognize Secondary 500GB Hard Drive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've already reinstalled Windows once because of this issue. This time I reinstalled, I installed all my drivers, restarted my


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2011, 06:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 SP1



I've already reinstalled Windows once because of this issue. This time I reinstalled, I installed all my drivers, restarted my computer, then found that the drive was no longer recognized by the computer as drive D, and instead my blu-ray player has taken D's place. I've had so many problems installing this new drive and reinstalling Windows, and I just want my computer to work Please help. The hard drive that's not working happens to be a WD Scorpio Black 500GB. The one I'm using as my primary drive is a Crucial M4 256GB SSD.

__________________
Angelwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 06:04 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Is the drive listed in Disk Management?

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 06:08 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 SP1



No. But it is listed in my BIOS and in Intel Rapid Storage Utility. There's nothing wrong with the drive. It's a software issue for sure.
__________________
Angelwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:23 AM   #4
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux



Try the drive in another computer and let us know if it can be seen there.
__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 04:32 AM   #5
Moderator hardware team
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 2,414
OS: OSX, VM,Windows 7 Pro, Linux


Guys try scanning the drive with r-studio to see if it can read and recover the data. Shakes yours is not the same issue and I seem you started another thread which is the correct thing to do

__________________

Please mark the thread solved when your question has been answered to your satisfaction

Tools: Memtest IMGBurn SeaTools DOS WD Lifeguard R-Studio GetBackData Easeus Free Clone Software DRDD Partition Find and Mount
Networks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I update the BIOS of my ASUS computer to boot from a SATA hard drive?
I have an ASUS CM5570 computer that the hard drive crashed in. I've installed a WD3200AAJ8-22VWA0 Western Digital hard drive (from a computer with a dead mother board). (Both computers were running Vista.) Sometimes, it boots properly and loads Windows. Sometimes, it fails to boot and displays...
keepupweb Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 08-26-2011 05:10 PM
Adding secondary hard drive
I'm not sure this is the correct place to post this but if not, someone please direct me. I have a fairly new HP Windows 7 computer with only one 700GB hard drive. I have another almost dead (BSOD issues) computer that has a 500GB primary hard drive with windows vista on it. I want to install...
Bluesman43 Hard Drive Support 6 06-27-2011 03:30 PM
Computer Powers On, No POST After Hard Drive Upgrades
I see a very similar problem in a following thread, but I didn't want to hijack it so I made a new topic. So I had a custom built machine (let's call it "custom") with the following specs: AMD Phenom x4 965 (stock fan) Corsair 650w PSU Antec 300 case 12GB ram GIGABYTE GA-MA790GPT-UD3H...
shadou Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 03-09-2011 01:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts