Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Cloning software for SATA HDD

This is a discussion on Cloning software for SATA HDD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I want to replace the SATA HDD in my HP Pavilion laptop. I have purchased an Hitachi 2.5" 500GB SATAll


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2012, 10:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NNJ
Posts: 4
OS: windows 7 ultimate



I want to replace the SATA HDD in my HP Pavilion laptop. I have purchased an Hitachi 2.5" 500GB SATAll 5400rpm HD. Can anyone recommend the best software to clone my original HD? My operating is Windows 7 Ultimate. I have access to a Newer Tech Voyager Q quad interface SATA hard Drive Docking Solution device.

__________________
Drumor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:34 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,672
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


EaseUS Disk Copy Home Edition - CNET Download.com
XXClone - CNET Download.com

spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:59 PM   #3
ROG Enthusiast
 
A1tecice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,497
OS: Windows 8 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008

My System


I would personally recommend Clonezilla, Very easy to use and will do a sector by sector clone, including your boot MBR's so you can just boot from the clone right away :).

You will have to open disk management and format the unallocated space after and then merge them together.
__________________

Please post Hardware Specifications of your computer.(Including Power Supply!).
Memtest86+ | Seatools
How to Benchtest
Info & Selection of PSU's
A1tecice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NNJ
Posts: 4
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Thank you very much. I will look at clonezilla. That's exactly what I want it to do.
__________________
Drumor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 05:26 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NNJ
Posts: 4
OS: windows 7 ultimate



I used clonezilla yesterday and disk management to clone and extend the partition. Everything went very smoothly.Thanks. Regards Drew
__________________
Drumor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 05:35 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NNJ
Posts: 4
OS: windows 7 ultimate



I look at the easeUS cloning product but backed out of the download when I couldn't opt out of the McAfee add on. I did download the partion program but Disk management worked flawlessly. Thanks for your suggestions.
__________________
Drumor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:16 AM   #7
ROG Enthusiast
 
A1tecice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,497
OS: Windows 8 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008

My System


glad we could help :).

__________________

Please post Hardware Specifications of your computer.(Including Power Supply!).
Memtest86+ | Seatools
How to Benchtest
Info & Selection of PSU's
A1tecice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repost Per: CatByte Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem
Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem Hello, I hope I'm at the right area for help. This pc I'm on was infected with Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD. I was able to get to the net somehow and I installed and ran Malwarebytes and got rid of SmartHDD. Then I ran Windows Defender and it found...
mg67 Resolved HJT Threads 23 07-30-2012 06:24 AM
Rpc shutdown 60 second timer
Hello. i have this RPC shutdown problem and it is driving me crazy i dont have a start button or task bar. i ran dds and it only gave me back 1 log so i will post that. and i ran gmer it had a problem and shut down my computer the first time. the second time i ran it it went through so hopefully...
jenn_needs_help Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 130 07-26-2012 02:58 PM
40Gb HDD to 80Gb HDD Cloning
I have a 40Gb HDD with data. Now I want to Clone entire data to another HDD of 80Gb. I have cloned, but the problem is that, I am not able to use total 80Gb of HDD space.:upset:
kpsanal Hard Drive Support 1 05-24-2011 04:25 AM
Java Trojans, etc
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to address my problem. Your help is much appreciated and I understand this is volunteer based, so I will maintain patience. I am trying to set up an older laptop for my kids to use, so I downloaded Avast and ran their Full Scan and their Boot Scan. ...
treefrog1 Inactive Malware Help Topics 44 04-10-2011 04:53 AM
virus ends all programs, help please
Hello there, the other day whilst not really paying attention I allowed a fishy program to bypass my firewall, and it basically just shuts down any prgrm I open, and opens some fake virus software stuff. Anyways help please, I don't want to buy a new computer yet :grin:
redphase Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-25-2011 11:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts