Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

Check cable connection.. ! PXE-M0F: Exiting Intel PXE ROM Boot Error

This is a discussion on Check cable connection.. ! PXE-M0F: Exiting Intel PXE ROM Boot Error within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. One day i was sitting at home playing on my toshiba laptop, windows 7, and the screen went blue said


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2011, 04:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



One day i was sitting at home playing on my toshiba laptop, windows 7, and the screen went blue said something but didnt get a glimse and then it said
Check cable connection.. ! PXE-M0F: Exiting Intel PXE ROM Boot Error
on a black screen, what happened? D=

__________________
brytonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 04:39 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Remove the Power adapter and battery

Remove the hard drive and re-insert back into the slot making sure seated properly.

Boot into BIOS and check the boot options.

Usually you get the error message when the hard drive is not detected in the boot options and the system attempt to boot to the NIC.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



I did the first two and now its saying the exact same thing, but on top of the original message it says
Nobootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key
does this mean my harddrive is corrupted and ill need the windows 7 disc to reformat?
__________________
brytonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:24 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Or it could mean that the hard drive has failed/failing

Did you boot into the System Setup Menu (BIOS) and check the status of the hard drive.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 03:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



at first it would randomly work and i could access my desktop and everything and then eventually it went bak to the black screen, but now after i pulled the harddrive and put it bak in, it starts up then just is black screen period, sits like that for awhile then eventually brings up the same error cable connection problem.. =[
__________________
brytonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 04:03 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



actually it dosnt even show the message anymore, its been black screening with a gray underline blinking at the top left ..
__________________
brytonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 04:44 PM   #7
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



Reboot tapping F2 to enter the Bios setup program, see if the hard drive is listed.

D/L the Hitachi Drive Fitness Test on a working PC, burn it to a CD and boot the Toshiba from the CD to test the hard drive.
Downloads
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:20 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7



i got a windows 7 disc downloaded, put it in and it said i had some errors with the start up system or some retard thing and now its being a peice of trash just like before. how do i fix up the windows start up thing?
__________________
brytonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 01:03 AM   #9
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



Downloaded from where?

Did you run the drive tests?
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 01:24 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7


My bud got
It from pirate bay or somethin, and i dont know exactly what that is, i tried everything i could off that disc tho including a system repair but it just did not want to work =\
__________________
brytonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 10:57 AM   #11
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



Throw the pirated copy of Win 7 in the trash and use the original disc, pirated copies from site like The Pirate Bay come with keyloggers/malware preinstalled.

D/L burn to a CD and run the drive fitness test, use the fitness test CD to boot from if it won't boot from that it's not a windows issue.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:24 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7


But if the comp didnt come with a disc, does that meen ill hav to buy one?
__________________
brytonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:34 PM   #13
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



Did this come with Win 7 pre-installed?
If it did there is a recovery partition on the hard drive, there is also a program on the start menu called "recovery disk creator" which you should have used to create your own set of recovery DVD's.
First you need to test the hard drive, if it is still good then use the recovery system to reinstall Win7, if the hard drive has in fact failed then you can borrow a legitimate win 7 disk(same version you have) from a friend and use the key on the bottom, or contact Toshiba support for replacement recovery media usually about $25.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:41 PM   #14
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



See this link on how to run the system recovery > How to launch the Windows Recovery Environment
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:44 PM   #15
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



And this one on running the Toshiba Recovery Wizard> http://askiris.toshiba.com/ToshibaSu...200%2095967390

These steps will only work if the drive is good and the recovery partition intact.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 11:47 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
OS: windows 7


Thanks alot, so will i have to take out the harddrive n connect it to a diff comp? Cuy i cant get to the desktop at all, the win7 doesnt start up, and it was preinstalled with win7
__________________
brytonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 12:29 PM   #17
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,515
OS: Win7



What would putting it in a different PC do?

Did you follow the instructions for the Toshiba Recovery Wizard, there nothing there about having to start windows, if you can't start the recovery wizard from boot the hard drive has failed, you'll need a new hard drive and a windows 7 installation disk.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 02:00 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
OS: Win 8.1


Thumbs Up

I am bumping because this solution worked perfectly in December 2014 for a Dell laptop w/ a nicely burned in Scorpio HDD. I pasted the boot error message into my Net search box and this was the top return. Thx, makinu1der, for taking the time to rescue a puzzled old timer!

Quote:
Originally Posted by makinu1der2 View Post
Remove the Power adapter and battery

Remove the hard drive and re-insert back into the slot making sure seated properly.

Boot into BIOS and check the boot options.

Usually you get the error message when the hard drive is not detected in the boot options and the system attempt to boot to the NIC.

__________________
mickery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with Directx 10
When trying to install a redist for a game i was going to play, this error comes up: "An internal system error occured. Please refer to DXERROR.log and Directx.log in your Windows folder to determine the problem" This is my DXError.log: -------------------- module: dxupdate(Sep 4 2009),...
xAtlas PC Gaming Support 1 07-29-2011 02:43 PM
BSOD Problems, IQRL_Not_Less_Or_Equal; PFN_List_Corrupt; Ntfs.sys etc.
Over the past 2 months I've been having problems with BSOD's. First I tought it was just a one time thing but after five times I started to think different. I used Ccleaner and Comodo cleaner to clean up the registry but nothing helped. The one thing I did noticed was that the BSOD's were different...
Pytrik BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 02-28-2011 05:41 AM
Browser redirect
Hi, I suspect I have a brower redirect/rootkit problem. Main symptom is occasional redirections of firefox to random sites but most commonly and incresingly to the "scour" site. I have AVG 9 installed. The attached archive contains two copies of the GMER log as I seems to have problems...
donkeyfan237 Resolved HJT Threads 12 02-21-2011 10:34 PM
System Tool Infection - please help
I seem to have acquired a virus (?) called System Tool on my new laptop and would very much appreciate your help. I'm afraid I do not have much technical knowledge, so please bear with me! I have visited the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Removal Help forum and am working my way through the "New...
Rosie Rabbit Resolved HJT Threads 31 02-20-2011 07:35 AM
redirect to mywebface, mywebsearch, and wizard101
For the past few days, I have been getting redirected to mywebface or wizard101.com when I visit some websites, not all, but they are normal and safe websites that I visit and have always visited, but now I'm getting this redirection. I will refresh the website and it will redirect again. This only...
woodman123 Resolved HJT Threads 19 02-16-2011 10:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts