Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

alienware m7700 d9t

This is a discussion on alienware m7700 d9t within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am having some serious issues with my comp. I had taken it to get a system restore when i


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2009, 09:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
OS: xp



I am having some serious issues with my comp. I had taken it to get a system restore when i went to pick it up the guy basically handed me the computer worse then it was when i gave it to him. there were trojans and the only way to be rid them was to restore the computer. He says to me that he can not install windows and basically sends me on my way. I get home and turn the computer on and i get a screen that says ntldr is missing. i did some research download a repair and it did not work. it takes me to the good old blue screen (File\i386\ntkrnlmp.exe could not be loaded the error code is 7) I would like to just do the system restore myself. I have the utility cd, driver cd and another cd (microsoft windows xp mediaceneter edition 2005 dvd)--- this last cd is not working and i dont know what to do. Could he have reversed the install some how am i missing something.i would greatly appreciate the help.. thanks beckie

__________________
pawtyprincess1 is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 11:03 PM   #2
Tech Hardware Team
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,613
OS: xp



Microsoft will tell you its ram, or faulty bios settings, guess its possible,
but that has never been the case for me. Go here, and this sounds more
plausible, http://support.microsoft.com/default...1&PA=1&SD=HSCH
That may or may not help, hasnt for me in the past.
What I had to do, and this happened with win2000 installs and xp, was
run xp, or 2000 boot disks, "floppies" worked like a charm. But I was
doing a fresh install, not sure if doing this will give you a option for
restore.
To create boot floppies do a google for xp boot disks. This is from
microsoft, I would post the link but afraid it will take me to long to get
back to this site,,,lag,,forum server issues I think.

__________________
manic is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 09:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
OS: xp



no floppy drive. this is such a pain. I have the windows disk which takes me to a blue screen says set up create delete but u cant do anything cause its saying there is no disk in this drive unknown drive no matter what u press it takes me to that beautiful blue screen ... A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down etc etc etc............ setupdd.sys - address f7418c13 ...... I dont know what happened when the guy took it he said he would system restore and i dont know what he did but as i read more it seems as if he missed something and i tried alot i just dont know whats going on. I checked out the site on microsoft i cant get it to load anything other then to hit f2 to go into the bios
__________________
pawtyprincess1 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 09:31 AM   #4
Tech Hardware Team
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,613
OS: xp



Does bios see the drive? Is raid disabled? If sata drive is bios setup to
see the drive as ide?
__________________
manic is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 09:50 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
OS: xp



i can bring up the screen and tell u what is set if that will help?
__________________
pawtyprincess1 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 09:51 AM   #6
Tech Hardware Team
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,613
OS: xp



Ok,,let me know
__________________
manic is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 09:59 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
OS: xp



on the bios setup utility it says
Main
ide 0 optical device cd rom
ide 1 optical device none
installed memory 2048 mb
available to os 2046
used by devices 2 mb

Advanced
system information
I/O device configuration
reset configuration data: No
Hyper Threading Technology enabled
power on beep disabled
card reader enabled
raid/ata mode select ata mode


BOOT
Boot priority order
1 ide0_m: Matshitadvd-ram UJ-845s-(
2: Pci scsi: sata378 tx2plus D0
3USB FDC
4:IDE0_S
5PCI LAN
6
7
8
Excluded from boot order
usb hdd
usb cdrom
__________________
pawtyprincess1 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:00 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
OS: xp



i tried to switch the raid mode to raid but then it wants to run on floppy disk
__________________
pawtyprincess1 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:05 AM   #9
Tech Hardware Team
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,613
OS: xp



So this is a laptop, wish I would have caught on to that sooner..
Not alot different then a desktop, but not my cup o tea...
Go here, it will shed some light on your issue...
Disable raid,,,,,Disable raid....
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7587_102...hreadID=149476
__________________
manic is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:06 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
OS: xp



I have the option to load default configuration I just dont get y it goes to either the ntldr is missing then i insert the repair disk for that then get the blue screen. when i try the alienware microsoft recovery dvd-rom i get the blue screen as well
__________________
pawtyprincess1 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:15 AM   #11
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,318
OS: XP Pro-7



I would run diagnostics on the Hdd.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:15 AM   #12
Tech Hardware Team
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,613
OS: xp



The harddrive is a scsi sata, so it shows up, but it seems from the little
reading ive done it has to do with a driver from alienware. You may try
to go to alienware support and see if there is a answer there,,
Sorry I couldnt be of more help,,I try to avoid laptops...
__________________
manic is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:19 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
OS: xp



yes it is the lap top =0(
__________________
pawtyprincess1 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:20 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
OS: xp



you have been helpful and i appreciate it. I have checked their web site nothing useful and there is no warranty left on the lap top so im kinda stuck.. thanks so much for your help
__________________
pawtyprincess1 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 10:28 AM   #15
Tech Hardware Team
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,613
OS: xp



Your welcome, you should try Tyree's suggestion.. He may be more
knowledgeable about laptops than I...
__________________
manic is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 05:58 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
OS: Win XP Pro SP3



I have an Alienware D900T M7700, which crashed, Switched from RAID to ATA and working on one HD. I have reloaded the HD with Win7. The system will not load after the starting windows screen. I get a BSOD, without showing the error message and restarts. Trying to figure out what the problem is.

__________________
L_Rodriguez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts