Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Graphic Design, Digital Imaging, and Multimedia

Canon FS100 - using external mic

This is a discussion on Canon FS100 - using external mic within the Graphic Design, Digital Imaging, and Multimedia forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Does anyone have a recommendation for an external mic that is compatible w/ this camcorder? I purchased a Sony ECM-DS70P


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2008, 01:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP



Does anyone have a recommendation for an external mic that is compatible w/ this camcorder? I purchased a Sony ECM-DS70P based on it's compact size and the reviews I saw at Amazon but it doesn't seem to work w/ the camera. Is this because it is not a powered mic (it doesn't require batteries)?

I need something that can rest on a table top while conducting on-camera interviews at a conference table - I don't need a camera mounted mic.

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Thanks

__________________
rjstrachan is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 04:22 PM   #2
Moderator: Design
 
dm01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Richmond, B.C.; Canada
Posts: 2,200
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


http://www.leechon.com/final-thouhts-fs100-546.htm

A series of creative solutions. He used the Azden Sgm-2x Xlr 2 Barrel Shotgun Mic, available at Amazon for $211.11 USD.

__________________

Validate your Markup Validate your CSS Notepad++
Please use [HTML], [PHP], and [CODE] when posting code or markup.
I do not help by Private Message or e-mail. If for some reason I have over-looked a reply to a thread that I have previously replied to, then send me a message.
dm01 is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 12:12 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS: Windows XP home



The Canon fs100 user guide states that you must use a condenser mic with its own power source. This means that, yes, you must use a mic that requires a battery. Otherwise, it just won't work.

You should be able to find some good mics for a reasonable price--you probably won't need to spend as much as $200. Here's a link to some search results--http://tinyurl.com/oy3974

HTH!
__________________
joannakat is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:27 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
OS: Windows XP home



I just used my Canon FS100 to record a performance and found that the builtin, stereo mic worked beautifully, even from a distance!

If you haven't already tried recording your interviews without the use of an external mic, you might want to give it a try--you might be surprised with the results!

Good luck, and please let us all know the outcome.
__________________
joannakat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts