Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Automotive Support

[SOLVED] No heat in 96 chevy 1/2 ton

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] No heat in 96 chevy 1/2 ton within the Automotive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My truck won't put of any heat. I first thought it was the heater core but not really sure. This


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2008, 01:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
OS: XP Pro



My truck won't put of any heat. I first thought it was the heater core but not really sure. This is what it is doing.

Truck can run & be driven all day & temp never reaches above 110-115. Normal usage it would run around 190-200. Blower works & all speeds work as well.
I now it needs new antifreeze, but I don't want to add it until I find out what needs to be fixed. It currently is about 85% water.

Do you think the thermostat needs replaced?
What type Antifreeze does a 96 4.3l v6 vortec take?

Thanks for any help you can give.

__________________
Cokeman73 is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 02:14 PM   #2
Administrator
Automotive Team Manager
 
Midnight Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hunting the next geocache
Posts: 4,553
OS: Windows 7/Windows XP Home/Pro SP3/Windows 98SE/Fedora Core 6/RH 7.2 with Autopoint/TAMS II



It'd take the plain old green stuff..
Are both heater hoses about the same temp once it warms up?

__________________

Please post all questions in the appropriate forum. Questions sent by email or PM will not be answered.
Interested in Trek gaming? Check out the Dynaverse!
Proud supporter of the Carolinas Aviation Museum - the final home of Flight 1549.
Confession might be good for the soul, but it hurts the heart like hell.
Midnight Tech is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 06:27 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
OS: XP Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnight Tech View Post
Are both heater hoses about the same temp once it warms up?
Not sure but I'll check tomorrow.
__________________
Cokeman73 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 03:46 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: u.k, yorkshire
Posts: 51
OS: xp home sp 3

My System

Send a message via MSN to daz75

Hi.

Could air of got into the system somehow causing an air lock?

If the temp is staying normal I doubt it's the thermostat.

I don't know this vehicle though

Hope ya get it fixed.

Daz.
__________________
daz75 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 04:06 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
mack1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 1,335
OS: xp sp3

My System


Hi Cokeman73,

Quote:
Do you think the thermostat needs replaced?
Yes, 110 to 115 degrees is too low. Sounds like it is stuck wide open.

Best regards,
Mack1
__________________
"If you like yourself others will like you also" me
"Don't drink downstream from the herd" Will Rogers



mack1 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 02:03 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
OS: XP Pro



@ Midnight Tech: Check heater hoses ones warmer than the other. These are the hoses that run to the Heater Core that is what you wanted correct?

@ daz75: It is possible air got in, the water pump had to be replaced just before summer. I checked everything then & heat worked fine.

@ Mack1: I thought that was the case. The truck has always ran around 190-200.

Sounds like to me it's both the thermostat & heater core (after checking hoses). I suck at diagnosing the problem. Once I know what the problem is I can fix it 99% of the time.

So what does everyone think? This is my only vehicle at the moment so I have to get it fixed before it gets worse. Thanks for all your help.
__________________
Cokeman73 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 02:34 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
mack1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 1,335
OS: xp sp3

My System


Hi Cokeman73,

Here's an idea for you. If you can take the heater hoses loose at the engine, you can use a water hose to flush the heater core. I did this on my grandson's car last year and it worked fine. Water pressure is about 80 psi, so you have to be careful and not push the water hose too hard against the heater hose....be careful. Flush it both dirrections and it should clean up fine and work if crud is the problem. His heater did not have a vaccuum cut off valve, so it was an easy job. Check for a valve is it don't want to flush.

Best regards,
Mack1
__________________
"If you like yourself others will like you also" me
"Don't drink downstream from the herd" Will Rogers



mack1 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 08:25 PM   #8
Administrator
Automotive Team Manager
 
Midnight Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hunting the next geocache
Posts: 4,553
OS: Windows 7/Windows XP Home/Pro SP3/Windows 98SE/Fedora Core 6/RH 7.2 with Autopoint/TAMS II



That's it C-man! Unequal temps seem to indicate a plugged heater core. Try what mack1 said about flushing it out and see what sorts of crud comes out of it.
__________________

Please post all questions in the appropriate forum. Questions sent by email or PM will not be answered.
Interested in Trek gaming? Check out the Dynaverse!
Proud supporter of the Carolinas Aviation Museum - the final home of Flight 1549.
Confession might be good for the soul, but it hurts the heart like hell.
Midnight Tech is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 12:50 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
OS: XP Pro



I'll do that after work today & let you know the results.
__________________
Cokeman73 is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 04:12 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
OS: XP Pro



I apologize for the huge delay. I finally got everything fixed. The problem was the thermostat was stuck. I replaced it temps got up to 190-200 as normal. Still no heat. The hoses would not budge, When trying to release the compression fitting it snapped of leaving half in the intake (always something). So truck was down for a while. Finally got that fixed up. Flushed everything out. Heater core was plugged, took 3 times going back & forth between the 2 hoses. I now have heat. Thanks to all that helped. Again sorry for the delay.
__________________
Cokeman73 is offline  
Old 12-03-2008, 04:38 PM   #11
Administrator
Automotive Team Manager
 
Midnight Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hunting the next geocache
Posts: 4,553
OS: Windows 7/Windows XP Home/Pro SP3/Windows 98SE/Fedora Core 6/RH 7.2 with Autopoint/TAMS II



Very good on the fix - I see you had the "quick-connect" blues...the aftermarket ones are much better quality than the OEM ones.
Will mark this one as solved!

__________________

Please post all questions in the appropriate forum. Questions sent by email or PM will not be answered.
Interested in Trek gaming? Check out the Dynaverse!
Proud supporter of the Carolinas Aviation Museum - the final home of Flight 1549.
Confession might be good for the soul, but it hurts the heart like hell.
Midnight Tech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts