Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Automotive Support

[SOLVED] 94 caprice classic

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] 94 caprice classic within the Automotive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. anyone with experiance on a 4.3 v8? the car is running ok but has a strong smell of raw fuel

Closed Thread

Old 05-01-2008, 01:46 PM   #1
Registered Member

anyone with experiance on a 4.3 v8? the car is running ok but has a strong smell of raw fuel out of the exhaust.

has new plugs, egr, and fuel pressure regulator. the computer has no codes to pull.

i checked the MAF and all looks ok there havent ohmed it but the resisters inside look fine one is black but still connected. thinking O2 sensors but again no trouble codes active or stored.

got a few more things to check (plug wires, check spark color) but so far nothings produceing positives.

thanks in advanced for all answers

Bud.

Old 05-01-2008, 02:05 PM   #2
Tech Hardware Team

I have no experience with that motor, but, have you installed
the oxygen sensor, kind of wierd that you are not getting any
codes, maybe the computer is shot. Have you took a battery
cable off for a few minutes, then put the cable back on, and let the motor run, to let the
computer clear the codes?
Pull the plugs, alot of good info from a plug read...
Plugs will not throw a code...or wires, or cap, or rotor bug.

Old 05-01-2008, 02:14 PM   #3
Registered Member

i havent put a oxygen sensors on it yet. i havent had the battery cables off yet either. and the owner of the car just installed new plugs before he called me to look at it so not sure the plugs are going to give much info being brand new.

hopeing it isnt a compression deal guess that needs to be my next step to check that.
Old 05-01-2008, 02:18 PM   #4
Registered Member