Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Automotive Support

Removing Air cleaner assembly on 95 Toyota Corolla

This is a discussion on Removing Air cleaner assembly on 95 Toyota Corolla within the Automotive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, im replacing the starter on my 95 Toyota Corolla and ran into a bit of a problem in removing


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-11-2009, 09:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Hi, im replacing the starter on my 95 Toyota Corolla and ran into a bit of a problem in removing the air cleaning assembly.

My first problem was the three bolts that hold the assembly in place. The first 2 came out, no problem. But the third one that connects to somewhere under the fuse box loosened up all the way and the threads are out, but I can't seem to pull the bolt out, something is keeping it in there. I worked on it for ten minutes and can't seem to get the darn thing out.

My second problem is probably a pretty easy one, but on the assembly 2 small ribbed rubber hoses run along both sides and have clamps keeping them alongside it. I dont know how to get the hoses out of the clamps. Googled it and can't find much.

Thanks for the help!

__________________
Chaselun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 02:23 PM   #2
Moderator Automotive Center
 
octaneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,723
OS: WINXP



Hi Chaselun

Use a long flathead screwdriver from underneath the box to push the bolt upwards until you feel some resistance. Then try to remove the bolt by putting pressure on it from underneath. If that doesn't work the bolt may have to be cut off.

If the hose clamp has a bolt on top all you do is loosen it as much as needed and then you tap it on top until the clamp releases. If it doesn't have a bolt and it's just an ordinary clip, then you need channel locks or needle nose pliers to clamp the two ends of the hose clamp until it releases. If there is no access to it, you will have to reach in with your hands and spin the clamp until you can place your tools.

Good luck!

__________________
octaneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 07:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Yup, that worked.

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Chaselun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts