Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Automotive Support

car won't start after replacing timing belt?

This is a discussion on car won't start after replacing timing belt? within the Automotive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi today i was replacing my timing belt and after getting off the timing belt I want to change the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2012, 11:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Hi today i was replacing my timing belt and after getting off the timing belt I want to change the cam oil seals and when i try to take off the bolt on one of the cam sprocket, the cam sprocket kind of snap or spring into position. So I turn it back the cam sprocket to the top dead center. Then when i finish installing the timing belt my car won't start. It hears a click when i try to start the engine and then the battery went dead. Does anybody can help me out? Thank you in advance. do you know if i need to realign my cam timing? and how do you realign the timing?

__________________
bvang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:00 AM   #2
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,333
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1


When you set the can to TDC it must be on the intake stroke of #1. Did you set the crank shaft to #1 TDC also? If you didn't it won't work

__________________


Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 07:50 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 560
OS: xp pro



you have to get the cam and crank gears lined up correctly .. there are marks on each gear and they both have to be in the correct position

since i have no idea what you are working on except its a car,,, you need to go and find out were they need to be pointing
__________________
kjms1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 12:10 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



well i did have the cam and crank at tdc but when i try to take out one cam sprocket to change the oil seal, it kind of jump or sprung into position. so i turn it back to the line mark. so after i finish installing the timing belt my car won't start.
__________________
bvang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:25 PM   #5
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,333
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1



did you turn it forwards or backwards? ALWAYS turn the shafts in the correct direction, Make sure both are lined up correctly at TDC on intake stroke, some cars will line the mark up on the intake and exhaust stroke
__________________


Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:47 PM   #6
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,887
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



How do you know if it is the intake stroke if the valve timing is all messed up?

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:05 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



i turn it backwardthe back and what do you mean by always turn the shaft in the correct position? you mean if the cam sprocket spin left then i turn right?
__________________
bvang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:09 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



because i know it's the intake stroke that got miss up because my car is a 300zx v6 twin cam engine and there are 2 cams sprocket on each side. i only turn the 2 cam sprocket on the left side that got cam timing miss up and i didn't touch the right side cam sprocket
__________________
bvang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:10 PM   #9
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,333
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Basementgeek View Post
How do you know if it is the intake stroke if the valve timing is all messed up?

When #1 are both closed teh cam is at tdc, when teh crank is at tdc with eth pistop au its at tdc.

BG
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvang View Post
i turn it backwardthe back and what do you mean by always turn the shaft in the correct position? you mean if the cam sprocket spin left then i turn right?
No I mean always turn all engine components in the same direction as the engine rotates when it is running.
You will have to start from scratch, pull all plugs and check for damage, is theres no damage remove the valve cover and turn the engine by hand until the #1 piston is at tdc, and then move the cam to the tdc position, making sure both intake and exhaust valves are closed, then reinstall the belt and the spark plugs, and attempt starting
__________________


Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:19 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



ok thank you! you mean the plug is it spark plugs right? and how do i check for damage?
__________________
bvang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:55 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Did the engine turn over before you heard the click and the battery died ?
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:07 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomken15 View Post
Did the engine turn over before you heard the click and the battery died ?
no but it think when i replace the timing belt i didn't turn the crank bold a few rounds to see if the timing marks are in place and then after that the engine turn on for 1 or 2 seconds then it dies.
__________________
bvang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:21 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



You'd best go through the setup procedure again.

The reason I asked if the engine turned over first before you heard the click, is because that is indicitive of a jammed starter motor and/or bad contact at the battery terminals. The battery would seem if it was dead and may have had nothing at all to do with the timing belt problem.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:01 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3,308
OS: xp



Check the battery and be sure cables are clean and making good contact.
__________________
bruiser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:48 PM   #15
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,333
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by bvang View Post
ok thank you! you mean the plug is it spark plugs right? and how do i check for damage?
when you pull the plugs inspect the threads and, the little tang that sticks over the center and the center for any thing that looks like a strike from a metal object. When you put the bottom at TDC use a flash light and watch through et spark plug hole at #1 cylinder's piston tdc is achieved when it is at the top of the stroke and the timing make ( if equiped) lines up with 0 on the gage.
__________________


Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 08:34 PM   #16
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,887
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



A couple 300x's were interference engines:

Timing Belts: Is Your Engine an Interference Engine?

If so, turning the engine over, with the valve timing off, bad news. That could be the clicking you heard.

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 08:56 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
OS: windows 7



i didn't know this before but the engine is a twin cam so on the passenger side the intake cam and exhaust cam is off timing or miss up and the driver side is ok. do you guys know how i can reset the intake cam and exhaust cam?
__________________
bvang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 04:14 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfen1086 View Post
when you pull the plugs inspect the threads and, the little tang that sticks over the center and the center for any thing that looks like a strike from a metal object. When you put the bottom at TDC use a flash light and watch through et spark plug hole at #1 cylinder's piston tdc is achieved when it is at the top of the stroke and the timing make ( if equiped) lines up with 0 on the gage.
I was taught to use a pencil. You carefully held it in the sparkplug hole and noted how much was prutruding at its peak, marked it off then rotated again until you got the same mark on whichever stroke you were looking for.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 04:29 AM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by bvang View Post
i didn't know this before but the engine is a twin cam so on the passenger side the intake cam and exhaust cam is off timing or miss up and the driver side is ok. do you guys know how i can reset the intake cam and exhaust cam?
Basically, you line the notches up with No1 at TDC when both valves should be closed. In the days when we had Distributors it was a lot easier to differentiate between the ignition stroke and the exhaust stroke because with the distributor cap off, you just turned the engine until the rotor was pointing at No1.

You should have set the engine to this position before you stripped it down and not moved it again until you had the timing belt in place.

I think your best bet would be to get hold of a workshop manual and you should never undertake a job like this unless you know the correct procedure and the do's and don't's. That way you won't end up in the doodoo.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:25 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



To ensure the engine is at No1 TDC and on its ignition stroke, align the TDC timing mark on the crankshaft pulley with the Datum pointer and that No1 piston is at its peak, either visually by looking into the No1 sparkplug hole or by holding a pencil in the spark plug hole as I've previously described.

Align the notches on the camshaft pullies and starting at the top, fit the timing belt onto the pullies ensuring that the grooves on the belt are firmly fitted into the drive slots of the camshafts and without any slack between the two pullies, then feed onto the crankshaft pulley.

Bring in the tensioner pulley (I think it's to allow a deflection of about 1/2" but it's been a long time since I last set up an engine and this is where the workshop manual for your vehicle is essential) then secure the tensioner.

Rotate the engine twice to realign the TDC timing mark on the crankshaft pulley with the Datum pointer and the notches on the camshafts should still be aligned.

Hope this helps.

__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)
Hello, my problem is with this error happening to a few programs. I've look all over the place for a fix but getting me no where:banghead: Now, I am not the most tech savy person but I understand a little, but the most I can gather is that it's a .dll issue. I have tried scr scan thing in...
ManBear Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 9 09-20-2014 10:39 PM
OS CD won't boot...
Hi all I just finished building my custom pc, and the problem is when I put the cd with the window in the optical drive(blue-ray drive) it won't start up the install process. I can add that I didn't buy a new hard drive. I was planning to either use my Old IPA I think, or my previous SATA...
condemned91 Building 11 03-22-2012 01:59 AM
Laptop Won't Turn On
Hello there. My Alienware laptop will not turn on. I have already attempted to reseat the memory cards, and I have attempted to power drain the laptop (pressing and holding the power button with AC and battery out, etc). When I initially turned on my laptop, I hear the fans run for about 5...
arrowhead566 Laptop Support 11 03-20-2012 12:03 PM
computer won't boot
i shut my computer off and unplugged it. i went to work and came home. when i had gotten home and pushed the power button it made a weird noise then shut off. it did this several times before i decided to unplug it. i have the gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD7-B3. and I'm not sure what is causing this problem...
truax575 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 03-20-2012 01:22 AM
New (and old) RAM, windows xp will not start
Hi Have installed new RAM (2 x 1Gb Asus Motherboard K8V-MX) which I checked with the manufacterers is compatible with my PC. It booted up just fine and showed the new memory on the system, but after another minute or so the computer simply cut out, switched off. Tried re-booting but...
therealjoe RAM and Power Supply Support 5 03-19-2012 05:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts