Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Automotive Support

2001 S10 4X4 4WD unit not working

This is a discussion on 2001 S10 4X4 4WD unit not working within the Automotive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have the push button 4 wheel drive unit. I tried to put it in 4HI but there are no

Old 12-31-2009, 08:12 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have the push button 4 wheel drive unit. I tried to put it in 4HI but there are no indicator lights and it feels as if it is still in 2HI. Any idea what could be wrong and how to fix it inexpensively (I'm strapped for cash)? I have instrument lights but no lights indicating which mode it is in. If it is a fuse which one is it? Thanks for any help. I'm no mechanic so please keep it simple.

Old 01-01-2010, 12:47 PM   #2
Automotive Team

Step one is check the fuse, its either in the owners manual if you have it, or it should be labeled on the fuse box cover. Yours is definitely all electric, so the fuse is the first place to start.

Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 08:53 PM   #3
Registered Member

Thanks wolfen I'll check it on my next day off or short day. I'm working 12 hour shifts this weekend.
Old 01-02-2010, 07:45 AM   #4
Automotive Team

Your welcome, keep us posted 4WD systems are funny creatures sometimes.

Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
Old 01-07-2010, 12:50 PM   #5
Registered Member

I had a chance today to check the fuse in the fuse block on the side of the dash board. It was fine, there was no break in the fillament. I replaced it anyway thinking it might help. No go, the indicator lights are still out.
Old 01-07-2010, 05:52 PM   #6
Automotive Team